Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great Location and Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Really nice ryokan just a minute (or less) away from the famous Nishiki market. It's also just a minute's walk away from the main Shijo street where there's plenty of departmental stores and the likes. We even walked to Gion from our hotel, and it took us only 10 - 15 mins. The staff were really professional and polite (as expected of the Japanese). They do speak a little english. The amenities and service were great too. Thoroughly enjoyed our time in Kyoto and experience of staying in a traditional ryokan.
4 out of 5
by Jasmine from singapore

ryokan in the best location

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
service staff spoke bare english but they had printed ready directions to popular attractions. Ryokan isnt the luxurious sort, gave an 'old' feeling but very, very clean. Public onsen was a great addition and very well maintained too
4 out of 5
by Burkhard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Shehzad

Seems overpriced for the authentic ryokan experien

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
I'd rather spend the money on a decent hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Nice hotel good area

Posted Apr 21, 2016
It was nice hotel in good area we had futon beds to experience the Japanese way . Big rooms but no wifi in rooms as advertised very disappointed only in lobby so if wifi is needed you have to go to lobby . Shopping area is fantastic
4 out of 5
by duanwu from Hong kong

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
The public bath was great.
3 out of 5
by Bun Fan from Hong Kong

Clean hotel near shopping area of Kyoto

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel with clean room and helpful people. A few steps to shopping area, and you can even walk your way to the temples.
4 out of 5
by Jules from Iwakuni, Japan

Great location. Traditional Japanese room.

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
This is a great location and home base for exploring downtown Kyoto. Just around the corner from the Fish market. And from there the covered street continues to lead to the shopping district, night life and an easy walk across the river to the Gion district. The hotel itself is clean and has the simple Japanese style. The desk staff speaks enough English to be helpful. They had us leave our room key at the front desk which was handy as our group of 4 split up. And They were friendly even when we came stumbling in late at night. They don't have parking, but do offer a discount $18/night parking at a lot 5 blocks away. Most rooms don't have their own bathroom but instead share a hallway bathroom and of course the onsen in the basement. We spent a little more to include the private bath in our room, which was a deep short tub. The tatami mat room was simple and clean. Beds are the futon mattresses which they roll out in the floor for you. Comfy enough for a couple of tired tourists. Smelled strongly of green tea (scented burner in the corner). There were cookies, tea leaves and a hot water pitcher waiting for us, which was very nice. I do wish they had the tea already made though, simply because I didn't know how much to use in the pot or what to do with our used tea leaves when we were done brewing so I made ours too bitter. We spent $230 for 1 night /5 people on a Saturday night. Though 1 member if our party got sick and couldn't come. Our room would have been the same room but $30 less expensive if booked for 4 people. The Japanese typically charge hotel rooms per person and because they roll out only the specific amount of mats, cookies, chairs, teacups that you need, it's good to be truthful about your number of guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
Great service and it's located in the main shopping areas of Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by Henry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels