Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time capsule from 1961 -- not in a good way

Posted Nov 21, 2014
An extremely dated hotel (the type where you get a single key to leave with the front desk). Room is stuffy, hallways stink of cigarette smoke, there is no wifi in the rooms. This is NOT a modern hotel, be warned. Not a terrible place to stay (the front desk staff is friendly) but at $225/night this place is a complete ripoff. Not worth more than $100/night and only if you can't find a modern hotel or want to experience a time shift to 1961 Japan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent hotel, good price, good location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The price and location were great - it was just across the road from a beautiful 'castle'. The room was well equipped and quiet.
Cons: The carpet in our room could have done with a clean. It would be nice to have free wifi in the rooms, not just the lobby.
Having mis-read the scale on the map this hotel I had thought was very close to the train station turned out to be a fairly long taxi ride away but the the up-side was that meant it was closer to many of the tourist attractions. The hotel is enormous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel across from castle

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: Need renovation in rooms
Close to castle, transportation right outside of hotel, one bus to Kyoto station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Comfortable, clean and friendly.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Cons: Coffee and milk to be provided.
The hotel had everything you needed and was close to public transport enabling us to visit local attractions. Friendly and helpful staff and nice sized rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and good location!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Nijo Castle
This hotel is literally across the street from Nijo Castle. It's just too bad it was closed the time my husband and I were in Kyoto. :( The only downside to this hotel is the wifi is only available at the lobby and you have to return your key every time you leave the hotel. It's inconvenient because the front desk tends to be busy and you always have to wait a bit to get your room key. The beds are hard but it's one of the better ones we have stayed in Japan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Col from London, UK

Good hotel opposite Nijo Castle

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Great location for Nijo Castle. Good value.
Cons: Rooms were a bit worn around skirting boards etc. Could do with a refurb.
Location: Just across the road from Nijo castle. A few minutes walk from Nijo metro station.
Good experience overall. Great location for Nijo Castle. Rooms are fairly clean with a bit worn round the edges. Lobby and restaurants are good. Staff very helpful. Great value for the price and good location to explore Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel to stay in Kyoto!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The spacious rooms, and the very helpful staff.
Location: Nijo Castle, A day to Nara, Ginza, and a must is the Monkey Park near Arayama.:)
Great location in Kyoto, opposite the famous Nijo Castle, and just a 100m walk to the bus stop (buses are great top use in this city!). the staff were wonderful they assisted us in making dinner reservations (and even making suggestions), the service and quality was great and there is a lot on offer in terms of restuarants and supermarkets in this area. Not far to the trendy Ginza or Shijo-Dori, and was great great value for money. The rooms were very spacious, including the bathroom (not common for Japan accomodation). Definately a great place to stay for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Singapore

Excellent and affordable hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: It is right across the Nijo-jo Castle and within walking distance from Kyoto Imperial Palace.
My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was a very nice hotel. The building is quite grand, location is right across the Nijo-jo Castle with a bus stop right in front of the hotel. The room is small but comfortable and clean. The staff are very friendly and can speak English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
we had a triple room, it was nice. The hotel staff was very helpful. nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane

Decent hotel right opposite Nijo Castle

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We were able to book this hotel right at the last minute so weren' t sure what to expect, but it was good. The hotel is perfectly situated to see lots of beautiful cherry blossom during sakura season and has everything you might need. Compared with ultra modern hotels, the style is a little dated but everything was super clean and comfortable. The metro station is nearby as are numerous bus stops, and a supermarket and convenience store are each about 500m up the road.