Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kay

Convenient Japanese style inn with good breakfast

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
This ryokan is in the heart of the old part of Kyoto with lots of good restaurants and walking streets. The staff wre exceptional and very helpful with maps, reservations, train tickets, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, traditional and convenient hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
If you wish to experience a traditional Japanese hotel near Yasaka Shrine or Gion this is great place to try. Even if you only try it for a couple of nights. There are plenty of local buses to get you to the main tourist areas as well. I was welcomed to the hotel by the receptionist (note as this is a traditional hotel no outdoor shoes are allowed inside as the entire hotel is covered in tatami mats - they provide inidoor shoes for all guests) and upon being escorted to my room they offered a tea service in the in-room tea area. After a long haul flight the bed wasn't the comfiest but I wasn't expecting it to be due to it being a traditional hotel and it being little more than a thin mattress on the tatami mats. There is a Japanese spa in the hotel as well I believe but I didn't use it as I was out sight-seeing both days I was there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan experience

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
It was a different experience. They have public bath and great breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: The positive- nice rooms, clean, and great location. We could walk to 2 major tours areas in 5 mins.
Cons: The customer service
I booked this hotel because of the reviews and photos from past customers. I expected more of a friendly greeting and atmosphere. From the time I checked in to checking out, we had very little interaction with the staff. They seemed very confused with questions and recommendations for restaurants, shopping, and directions. Only 1 person spoke in English. The positive- nice rooms, clean, and great location. We could walk to 2 major tours areas in 5 mins.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, to taste an aspect of Japanese culture

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfy.
Location: The location is accessible by bus, not subway. It beside Gion, a nice market area. Also there are cultural activities adjacent to it.
If you like to try a nice Japanese sleeping room, well this might be a choice, a bit expensive though. No Onesn is here. I lost some money that I left in the room, but safety boxes are available, so be aware. The reception is friendly and cooperative.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Oahu, HI

Traditional Ryokan in Gion

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
In Gion. Great walking streets. Close to cultural sights of Kyoto. You may see a Maiko while walking. Staff helped arrange activities. Very knowledgeable and helpful. excellent food. Relaxing Ryokan atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nina Nives from Auckland

Amazing experience

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing experience of a traditional Japanese guest house. We had a 9 course dinner served in our room and food was tasty and beautifully presented. Room is spacious with a traditional Japanese decor. Futons were comfortable. This ryokan is in the middle of Gion, so you can walk to the nearby temples and shrines. I would recommend that you stay 1 night in a traditional Japanese room and experience the dinner and breakfast. Ryokan is an expensive place to stay so if visiting Kyoto for longer, stay the rest of the nights in a hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Traditional rooms, but hotel not impressive

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Rooms are clean and traditional. Location is walking distance from the Gion Geisha district and many temples, and right on the bus line to the train station and other sites around town. The public bath is simple but clean. Lobby needs work and stinks of cigarettes (there is often somebody smoking in the lobby). Food is disgusting (we turned down 2/4 meals even though they were included in the rate). Some staff are friendly, while others leave a lot to be desired.