Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Business trip

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Hotel was pleasant, if a little dark in the lobby. The tiered lobby itself is certainly impressive, and perhaps out of scale with the modest but clean and well supplied rooms. My meetings and work dinner were elsewhere in Kyoto which meant that I found myself having to take taxis from the hotel and back, there being no nearby train station that I was aware of. But overall a good (not cheap though) experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for domestic flights. Great staff.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Perfect for domestic flights. Very accommodating and helpful staff. Good breakfast, but a bit expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Nice hotel, very quite, 10 minutes from the center

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Quite, reception.
Cons: Services for guest, as restaurant with long hours service.
Location: 10 minutes from the Station and 10 minutes from the center of the town.
The hotel was very quite, room size ok. The only problem is that restaurants of the hotel finish services very soon so it is difficult to have dinner/lunch if you don't arrive soon. Restaurants are really really expensives.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nicely Equipped Family Friendly Rooms

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: We liked the room size and hospitality of the staff. Good value for the price.
Cons: Customer service at the Kazahana Restaurant needs improvement. The premier lounge has very limited selections.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay greatly, other than for a few hiccups. The hotel staff was very friendly, courteous, and professional. We liked the size of our room although the carpeting was a bit dusty (or shedding) and caused some stuffy noses in the morning. Great bathroom facilities. The location isn't the most convenient for public transportation, but hotel provides a regular shuttle to Kyoto Station and the hotel does a good job of calling a taxi when needed. We experienced rather shoddy customer service at the Kazahana restaurant. The Horikawa Bar & Lounge doesn't offer non-smoking seating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Overall nice stay. Grand facility, nice bar, nice staff. The only improvement area would be their a bit outdated bathroom.
4 out of 5
by James

Nice hotel close to the palace

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
There is a convenient shuttle bus from Kyoto station
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, well run hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Easy 10-15 minute walk from the Kyoto train station and there's a free shuttle that every 20 minutes or so as well, so easy to get to and from for day trips out of Kyoto and checking in/out. The property itself is nice, though nothing extravagant. Our room was fairly minimalistic and the portion of the wall that stuck out for a desk was barely large enough for my laptop, but otherwise everything was fine. A friend had recommended a place that specialized in chicken sashimi before we arrived and said it was good to get reservations since the place only seats 10 folks. We emailed the hotel after we had made the reservation and asked them to make dinner reservations for us and they took care of it, no problem, and printed us a map of where it was, so that was cool. Otherwise, decent Wi Fi, but nothing else of note. Location isn't terribly exciting. We generally walked 15-20 minutes to places we wanted to eat, and the main attractions (Kiyomizu-dera, the various imperial places and villas) are more like a 45 minute walk away, but if you don't mind strolling and taking in the local life, it's not isolated and centrally located enough that nothing is too far away. Only downer is that the lobby always smelled like smoke :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Limited English Speaking Staff

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: The main tourist attractions (Nishiki Market and Gion Area) are at least a 30-40 minute walk or a cab ride away. However, Kyoto station was nearby.
Standard room sizes are pretty small. They were kind enough to upgrade us after we threatened to leave for the Westin, which had much larger rooms for a lower price. It was difficult communicating with the staff in the evening with the limited english speaking personnel they had on staff. We had to wait for the single fluent english speaking concierge to become available during the day to make any arrangements. The free shuttle service to/from Kyoto station was extremely convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels