Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Japanese style hotel with very good location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Nice staff and big room.
Cons: The hotel should provide more choices for its standard breakfast
Location: Next to 錦市場 and 15 min walk to 八坂神社.
Intended to have 2 nights at Kyoto with Japanese style hotel, and finally it is glad that I have booked this hotel. Hotel location is good, around 10 min walk from railway station and 錦市場. Hotel staff is very nice. Good experience of sleeping "on the floor". However, we did not upgrade our breakfast to Japanese style breakfast and the standard breakfast only serve bread and egg.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Delivers Ryokan experience

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The staff were super friendly and the hotel style was exactly what we hoped for.
Cons: Minor repairs (toilet roll holder falling off, tv remote broken).
Great hotel to experience a traditional ryokan. The room was large and clean. The Japanese breakfast (additional charge and must order by 5pm the day before) was excellent. The included continental breakfast consisted of boiled eggs, pastries, and toast. Location was good, as the Nishiki Market was a two block walk. We used taxis to get around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice ryokan in great location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Traditional hotel, nice room with tatami mats and screens, friendly helpful staff
Cons: Futon matresses were thin for older western bodies but were fine for our kids. Breakfast was pretty basic but included in price.
Location: Easy walk to shops and restaurants
The location was perfect for shops, restaurants and the train station. All were within 5-10 minutes walk. It was a nice traditional room with more space than I expected. It had a small screened off area with a table, chairs, fridge etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Posted May 8, 2016
Very friendly staff. Nice room (japanese style). The Kaiseki diner is not the best food you can have in Japan, but it's a fun experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra,Australia

Excellent ryokan style room with private shower.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Ryokan experience with the private bathroom, and its old town location.
Cons: The clothes dryer in the basement don't seem to dry in the 20minutes cycle. Perhaps this can be adjusted.
Location: It is set right in old Kyoto. Close to bus interchange, subway, Gion, Honnoji, Shijo subway station, Nishiki Food Market, Kawaramachi dori.
The location of this ryokan is right in old Kyoto, making it convenient to walk to the market and Gion. Excellent ryokan experience and service with the convenience of both a private shower and access to the public bath. The Japanese breakfasts are excellent, they change the menu for you daily. Had a wonderful time at Watazen!
5 out of 5
by jeongjun from 서울

매우 만족스러움

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
일단 카운터에서 영어를 잘 쓰시는 분이 있어서 편안했고, 위치도 역에서 멀지않아 금방 찾아 갈 수 있었음. 객실도 청결하고 잠자리도 편안했음. 조식을 돈조금 더내고 일본 가정식으로 바꿔 먹었는데 엄청 맛있게 먹었음 추천함
5 out of 5
by YI-LI from 台灣

臨近錦市場 價廉物美 最棒的旅館

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
位置非常方便 房間非常乾淨 服務又好
4 out of 5
by Hans from Stockholm

Bra läge i Kyoto

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Trevligt boende. Kan vara jobbigt att ligga på golvet om man inte har tänkt sig det. WiFi fungerar endast sporadiskt. Ej tillfredsställande. Mycket litet badrum.
2 out of 5
by Beverly from Los Angeles

Good location, poor amenities

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a large Japanese style room. Room was unattractive with old scratched furniture. Wi-fi was very inconsistent and mostly didn't work. Staff spoke poor English. There was no electric pot for heating water for tea, and we were provided with one tea bag per person per day and a thermos of hot water. Room was quiet except for week-end evenings, and location was terrific, close to transportation, food, nightlife and shopping, but quiet and less commercial in atmosphere. Room was over- priced for what we got. We did not pay extra for the meals.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels