Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

친절하고 깨끗한 호텔

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: 직원들의 친절도 조식
직원들도 친절하고 깨끗함. 시설이 낡은 듯 보이나 있을 만한 것은 모두 있음. 지하 1층 목욕탕은 작지만 깨끗함. 일식 스타일 조식도 비싸지 않고 만족스러움.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park

Wonderful traditional japanese experience in Kyoto

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Gion district with shops and restaurants in narrow streets. Many histrocial landmarks within a short bus ride Walking or riding along the Kamo river
We stayed one night at Ryokan Watazen on our last night in Kyoto and wish we could have stayed more. The hotel is very conviniently located in the heart of Kyoto by the Gion district. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with questions and directions. The traditionnal japanese room that we chose was superbe and very clean. The futons are comfortable and the staff made a great job installing them while we were away! We loved the sentô in the basement open late at night and early in the morning to wake up before traditional japanese breakfast which was tasty by the way and worth trying. Great experience overall and we would definitly go back there on our next trip in Kyoto. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

저렴하게 일본풍 숙소를 경험했습니다.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
중심가와 아주 가까운 거리면서 이 정도 가격에 료칸을 경험할 수 있다는 사실에 놀랐습니다. 잘 정돈되어있고 깨끗하며 쉬기에 더할 나위 없이 좋았습니다. 저녁때 잠시 외출하고 돌아오니 침구도 준비해주시고 편하게 쉬다 갑니다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Amazing Ryokan

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Watazen has it all! Quiet, convenient location, room and onsen very clean and we could leave bags with them after checking out which. We pre arranged to have Kaiseki and changed complimentary breakfast to traditional and highly recommend doing both. However it is the exceptional staff that completes this ryokan experience and nothing was too much trouble. When they take the time to wave you goodbye on the street you know this is somewhere special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

저렴하지만 교토를 느낄 수 있는 다다미방

Posted Sep 19, 2016
저렴한 가격으로 교토 전통 다다미방을 느낄 수 있다. 분위기 있는 온천을 즐길 수는 없지만 지하에 있는 대욕장에서 온천욕을 즐길 수 있다. 대욕장이지만 실상은 미니 공중 목욕탕 같은 느낌이다. 방에 있는 욕실사이즈도 미니사이즈이다. 직원들은 친절하지만 공중 목용탕 이용 불가시간 안내를 두번이나 변경해서 알려줬다. 웰컴기프트가 있다고 들었었는데 서비스가 종료된 건지 받지 못했다. 하지만 방에는 간단한 다과와 부채가 준비되어 있다. 외출하고 돌아왔을 때는 포근한 이불도 깔려있었다. 유카타도 있어 교토에 와있음을 실감할 수 있다. 어매너티는 샴푸,린스,바디워시,칫솔,헤어캡 등이 있으며 치약이나 면도기는 없다. 니시키시장과 가까우며 기온거리는 도보로도 가능하지만 버스를 이용하면 두 정거장 정도 된다. 근처에 로손편의점이 있는데 편의점보다 슈퍼마켓 느낌이 난다. 조식은 따로 주문하지 않았는데 식빵,모닝빵,크루아상과 딸기쨈,버터, 삶은 계란, 우유, 주스, 커피 등은 무료로 이용할 수 있다. 대체적으로 만족스러우며 다시 이용할 의사가 있다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Great ryokan experience for the price

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Tea is served right after checked in at your room, sweet.
Cons: Public shower room gets crowded sometimes but still okay.
Location: 10-15 min walk from Shijo-Karasuma subway station. I walked with one 28 inch suitcase, acceptable distance. Two or more luggage maybe a little bit far
Staff is friendly and helpful. They speak English, no problem with communication. They also give suggestions on dining, shopping, and things to do in Kyoto. Room is clean and spacious. I will definitely stay again if I go to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 한국

추천합니다!

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
주용하고 쾌적함
5 out of 5
by Wonsuk from 서울

Could feel Japanese culture

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean; Japanese style room and food were very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great way to experience a Kyoto Ryokan

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We decided to stay at this Ryokan for two nights, however we should have stayed for at least 1-2 more. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful. Rooms and onsen were clean and fun to try. I would recommend to book a room with a private bathroom, like we did, especially for western travelers that might not be used to using a public restroom. If considering staying at a ryokan while in Japan, this one was very well priced compared to others and a nice experience overall.
5 out of 5
by Francesco from Italia

Ottimo albergo in stile giapponese

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Albergo confortevole, posizionato ottimamente. E' vicino al mercato di Nishiki (veramente splendido, con cibi e leccornie di ogni tipo) e alla via della shopping. Mezzi pubblici (bus e metro) a poco distanza permettono di raggiungere facilmente le principali zone di interesse. Il servizio è ottimo. Si dorme per terra sui classici letti giapponesi. Consiglio colazione in stile giapponese (1200 yen), ne vale la pena.