Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Extraordinaire

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: L'accueil est extraordinaire. Le personnel est d'une extrême gentillesse, discret et fort compétent. Le bain japonais.
Cons: L'odeur du petit déjeuner à la japonaise. Un peu forte pour nous les occidentaux.
Location: Le Ryokan est situé au coeur de la ville, donc à vélo ou à pied il est très bien situé. Je recommande la location de vélo.
Accueil chaleureux avec petits cadeaux d'accueil, accompagnement dans la chambre avec explication du fonctionnement d'un Ryokan. Mise à disposition de Yukuta et chausson pour le bain japonais. Un accueil à la Japonaise formidable. Petit parking à vélo. Mise à disposition de chargeurs ... Que du bonheur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Y, Vancouver, BC

Great hotel for families

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Great Japanese style hotel for families. The staff were great with the kids and friendly. The place was well kept and very clean. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

フロントスタッフの対応

Posted Aug 9, 2015
館内は年季の入った旅館といった印象。 エレベーターが古くて狭い。 客室は清潔感があり、よかったです。 そして題名にあげたフロントスタッフの対応。 はじめに対応して頂いた方のみですが、車で移動しており駐車場がわからないので、ホテルの前に少し停車させたら文句を言われ、提携の駐車場に案内してもらえば、歩行車を引き殺さんばかりの運転。。 なんなんでしょ? お客さんを乗せてるときぐらい安全運転、普通の話し方での接客ぐらいして欲しかったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfotable room & very kind!

Posted Aug 7, 2015
This is the best hotel! It's close to Nisiki market and bus station. Also room and beds are clean and cozy. And they helped me a lot. So I can fully enjoyed Kyoto. If I have another trip to Kyoto, I'll be here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Japanese style ryokan

Posted Aug 5, 2015
The hotel has great location and service. The staff are really considerate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Floor mats or bed apparently not clean because got flea bites all over legs and arms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Japanese style hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015
For those wanting to experience a Japanese style hotel, the Kyoto Watazen Ryokan is an excellent start. Make sure to try the free public baths in the basement floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Inolvidable experiencia en Kioto

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Ya lo conocíamos de un viaje anterior y no nos defraudó. La experiencia de alojarnos en un ryokan, dormir en tatamis vestirnos con kimonos...Unida a la genial ubicación y amable servicio hace que alojarse en este hotel sea una experiencia inolvidable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful ryokan experience.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Watazen Ryokan, it was our first experience staying at a traditional Japanese ryokan and we really enjoyed it! I am so glad I didn't miss the opportunity to stay in one, it was one of our most relaxing stays while in Japan. It is also in a great location near Nikko Market and other attractions. Lots of eating choices nearby and they also rent bicycles. They always kept our room stocked with hot water, tea and even a couple of sweets to have with tea upon arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by fanny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels