Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a great place to stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Location: There is a cool vegan restaurant nearby called Ukishima Garden.
We enjoyed our stay at the Watazen Ryokan! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Taka spoke very good English and provided us with a great plan to visit Kiyomizu upon our arrival before the room was ready. Thanks Taka-san! The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are modern. We did not have dinner there, but the Japanese style breakfast was very good. It is in close proximity to multiple shopping areas and walking distance to the Gion area. We used the public bath which is a new experience for American's but relaxing and different. I would stay here again if I had the opportunity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Ryokan Experience

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Our one night stay was a great experience in a traditional Japanese guest house. The staff were very friendly and informative with big smiles. Our meal was served to our room which we enjoyed and finished the night with a bath. I was hesitant to go in the bath nude but there was no body around (luckly). Breakfast was in the dining hall and again a lovely experience. There is also a great little pub opposite with great beer. Location suited us on this trip and I hope to return again one day soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ryokan superb location excellent facilities

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Only problem was that wifi kept dropping out. Onsen waa great. Plenty of futons in the room to lay one on top of each other to get some reasonable padding for a bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Clean and comfortable room with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location with spacious room

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Very Central location in Kyoto right off the busy shopping street. If you're looking for a Japanese ryokan experience with a mean price this is it! Nice spacious room cleaned daily. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by guy

Very relaxing, well situated ryokan.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was enormous and with the sliding doors, converted into 3 separate rooms. Toast, rolls, eggs and drinks included for breakfast. Very relaxing. Also had a public bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park

Wonderful traditional japanese experience in Kyoto

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Gion district with shops and restaurants in narrow streets. Many histrocial landmarks within a short bus ride Walking or riding along the Kamo river
We stayed one night at Ryokan Watazen on our last night in Kyoto and wish we could have stayed more. The hotel is very conviniently located in the heart of Kyoto by the Gion district. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with questions and directions. The traditionnal japanese room that we chose was superbe and very clean. The futons are comfortable and the staff made a great job installing them while we were away! We loved the sentô in the basement open late at night and early in the morning to wake up before traditional japanese breakfast which was tasty by the way and worth trying. Great experience overall and we would definitly go back there on our next trip in Kyoto. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel was very helpful. My wife had a medical emergency and they were able to book us into the emergency room on a Sunday evening, can't thank you enough. The ryokan was a great experience in itself and the Japanese breakfast was really nice as well. Overall 5 star and I would highly recommend it. thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Amazing Ryokan

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Watazen has it all! Quiet, convenient location, room and onsen very clean and we could leave bags with them after checking out which. We pre arranged to have Kaiseki and changed complimentary breakfast to traditional and highly recommend doing both. However it is the exceptional staff that completes this ryokan experience and nothing was too much trouble. When they take the time to wave you goodbye on the street you know this is somewhere special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Great ryokan experience for the price

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Tea is served right after checked in at your room, sweet.
Cons: Public shower room gets crowded sometimes but still okay.
Location: 10-15 min walk from Shijo-Karasuma subway station. I walked with one 28 inch suitcase, acceptable distance. Two or more luggage maybe a little bit far
Staff is friendly and helpful. They speak English, no problem with communication. They also give suggestions on dining, shopping, and things to do in Kyoto. Room is clean and spacious. I will definitely stay again if I go to Kyoto.