Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of Lake Biwa

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Top building next to Lake Biwa, great view of Biwako although it was raining whole day. Kyoto station baggage checked in service is great. Room is big and nice apart from bath toilet's a bit outdated.
4 out of 5
by Chung Shun

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The room is comfortable and have a great view to the lake of Biwako. The hotel is a big building. In the morning I get up and look through the windows from floor 18, I can see the spacious and peaceful lake surface which doted with 3 maple trees with brown and red leaves. The view is so beautiful. I also took a walk around parts of the lake side which is closed to the hotel, the environment is so serene and beautiful. The room is comfortable and we have a good stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful views

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Perfect hotel if you want a quieter retreat after a busy day in Kyoto. Hotel is in Otsu, with a free shuttle running every 30 mins to and from Otsu station. From there you can get the train 2 stops to Kyoto station. We loved it and the view is superb and makes up for any extra travelling you do to get there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious, great lake view

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Generally it was great stay. Very spacious room facing directly to Lake Biwa. Convenient access to JR station with free half hourly shuttle bus. Nice place to relax after long day of walking around Kyoto.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scenic, comfortable, convenient. English friendly.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The location, right on Lake Biwa, next to a biking/walking path along the lake and near several lakeside parks, was excellent. Bike rentals right from the hotel (400 yen first hour, 200 each additional hour). Easy walk to restaurants, convenience stores, big department store (Seibu) which also contains several restaurants. Free shuttle every half-hour from the hotel to the train station; quick ride from there to Kyoto. Rooms was surprisingly spacious for Japan (similar to a traditional western hotel), very clean, with very comfortable beds. Meals at the hotel are very expensive and nothing is open before 7 am, but there is a convenience store walking distance and an electric teakettle in the room if you bring your own coffee or tea bags. There were very few western guests, and not all the staff are comfortable with English, but we were always able to communicate our needs, and the front desk was incredibly helpful with anything we needed. Would definitely stay here again if we could get another good discount rate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Biking the Lake in Style

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel right on the Lake! Spectacular Views!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel, fantastic views, bit out the way.

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
A free shuttle bus picked us up from near the railway station (2 stops on the train from Kyoto station) The bus runs regularly through the day until about 9pm (?) We visited from 17th-21st September, and were disappointed that the swimming pool was closed, as "summer was over". Coming from the UK, and struggling with the heat and humidity, this was a surprise to us. There are a couple of shops on site. One selling beautiful expensive clothing, the other was more of a convenience store. You could buy prepared food which the staff could warm up in the microwave for you. You could also buy souvenirs here. Staff very helpful, Some more fluent in English than others, any language problems then other staff members were called upon to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenilworth

Lovely hotel if you want peace & quiet

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, away from the crowds. Not many Westerners.
Cons: Having to wait for shuttle bus is a bit of a pain. I did walk to the train station a few times. But if you want a remote location then this is ideal.
Location: Nothing to do nearby, you need to get train to Kyoto. But is a lovely hotel. Expensive!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
A little disappointment that the pool was closed during our stay and only realized that its only open in the summer time with only 2 months