Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
雨の中、手作りの段幕?でのお見送りに癒やされました。旅館の不手際があった際の対応が丁寧で、後味が悪くなかったです。そして、何より、お料理が最高でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Experience

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I have never stayed at a Ryokan, but having stayed at Matsui Honkan, I would definitely do it again the next time I am in Japan. The Ryokan is beautiful and conveniently located near downtown Kyoto. I stayed in a Japanese style room equipped with tatami mats and the whole traditional fitting. It really made me feel as if I was staying in a room in an older Japan era. The bath in the basement is beautiful and very relaxing and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. I wanted to try traditional Japanese Kaiseki (which you normally have to book well ahead of time) but to my surprise, not only did they try to find places for me, one of the hotel staff ran out to a local kaiseki restaurant to ask in person and the restaurant managed to accomodate me when they were fully booked. I would highly recommend this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with great staff

Posted Oct 22, 2016
My first tatami experience great room very spacious and hotel is in the centre of everything I did my sightseeing by walking and there are many shops and restaurants around
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel - should've stayed longer!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Service, Cleanliness, Amenities
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
We stayed in the Japanese Room, Private Bathroom (For 2 Guests) and upon entering the level of service from the hotel staff was amazing! The room itself was quite large considering how other Japanese hotels were much smaller, felt good to have more room to breath and relax. The public bath that is at the bottom floor of the hotel was great. The only regret is that we only stayed one night, it would have been ideal to stay here longer and enjoy Kyoto more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

女子旅に最高です*

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: 錦市場に近いです。バス停は少し歩きますが、苦にはなりません。
内装がとても可愛くて、細かいところに気を使われています。ホテルに着いてすぐ、抹茶と和菓子を頂いて、帰りにもちょっとしたお土産を頂きました。接客は、とても気持ちがよく、細かい所まで気を使って頂きました。
5 out of 5
by Vinicius from São Paulo

Excelente Ryokan em Kyoto. Excelente bairro.

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Este ryokan é muito aconchegante, atendentes extremamente atenciosos e quarto extremamente limpo. Adoramos a experiência de viver como japoneses por uma noite. Utilizei a banheira pública e é muito limpa e foi uma experiência fantástica também. O jantar e o café da manhã que eles servem é realmente um perfeito banquete para quem aprecia uma comida japonesa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Korea

료칸을 체험하기에 가장 좋은 장소

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: 직원의 친절도, 배려, 깨끗한 시설
Cons: 특별히 없음
Location: 근처에 시장이 있어 볼거리가 많고, 도보로 기온 등을 나가기에도 큰 무리가 없습니다. 버스가 잘 되어있고 직원이 상세하게 설명해 주어서 큰 어려움 없이 주변의 주요 관광지를 둘러볼 수 있습니다.(은각사, 청수사, 니조성 등)
직원들이 매우 친절하며, 소소하게 감동을 주는 것들이 많습니다.(방문시 다과제공, 잠자리 준비 후 종이접기 선물, 퇴실시 선물 등) 료칸의 시설이 매우 깔끔하고 단정하며, 공중 욕탕도 깨끗하게 관리되어 있습니다. 식사는 교토 전통 스타일로 제공되는데, 해산물의 선호에 따라 호불호가 갈릴 수 있지만 전반적으로 다양하고 정성스럽다는 느낌이 듭니다. 매우 만족합니다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

非常推薦的日式旅館

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: 服務品質
Location: 距地鐵站約10分鐘路程,附近有很多小店與咖啡店
飯店員工服務親切,餐點特別&好吃,房間與浴池都很乾淨,是非常值得推薦的日式旅館~有機會會想再住一次!
5 out of 5
by YUANCHENG

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
日本旅行必须得体验一下日式酒店。从一进酒店门就能感觉到良好的服务,由于要下午才能入住,寄存了行李,等回去入住的时候行李已经放到房间,而且床都铺好,房间很大,还专门安排了中文的服务人员给我们讲解房间物品的使用;第二天的早餐也是准时的送到房间,完全吃撑;退房还送了一双筷子。总体这次入住非常满意,再去京都的话还会考虑入住。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful ryokan in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Traditional accommodation serviced by excellent staff. Exceptional food. Fantastic location.
Cons: No suggestions for improvement.
Location: Located in the centre of Kyoto - 5 minutes walk from Nishiki Market and other major shopping streets/tourist areas/public transport
We stayed here for one night only in a Japanese style room to experience traditional Japanese culture. After many hours of searching, we settled on this ryokan based on a number of good reviews and we were not disappointed in the slightest. We dropped our luggage in the morning and returned at check-in time. We had the keiseki set dinner and Japanese style breakfast in the morning; on both occasions the food was outstanding and plentiful. Certainly some of the best meals we had enjoyed during our two-week tour of Japan. The Japanese bathhouse situated in the basement was an amazing experience as well. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit in Kyoto!!