Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Experience

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I have never stayed at a Ryokan, but having stayed at Matsui Honkan, I would definitely do it again the next time I am in Japan. The Ryokan is beautiful and conveniently located near downtown Kyoto. I stayed in a Japanese style room equipped with tatami mats and the whole traditional fitting. It really made me feel as if I was staying in a room in an older Japan era. The bath in the basement is beautiful and very relaxing and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. I wanted to try traditional Japanese Kaiseki (which you normally have to book well ahead of time) but to my surprise, not only did they try to find places for me, one of the hotel staff ran out to a local kaiseki restaurant to ask in person and the restaurant managed to accomodate me when they were fully booked. I would highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic food, served in your room

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
We first stayed at the Matsui Honkan in 2008, and enjoyed it so much that we made sure to come back on our trip to Kyoto this year. The service is courteous and quick, the food _wonderful_, and the hot baths very comfortable. The staff knew that it was our anniversary, and gave us a gift when we arrived. We'll definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel - should've stayed longer!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Service, Cleanliness, Amenities
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
We stayed in the Japanese Room, Private Bathroom (For 2 Guests) and upon entering the level of service from the hotel staff was amazing! The room itself was quite large considering how other Japanese hotels were much smaller, felt good to have more room to breath and relax. The public bath that is at the bottom floor of the hotel was great. The only regret is that we only stayed one night, it would have been ideal to stay here longer and enjoy Kyoto more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful ryokan in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Traditional accommodation serviced by excellent staff. Exceptional food. Fantastic location.
Cons: No suggestions for improvement.
Location: Located in the centre of Kyoto - 5 minutes walk from Nishiki Market and other major shopping streets/tourist areas/public transport
We stayed here for one night only in a Japanese style room to experience traditional Japanese culture. After many hours of searching, we settled on this ryokan based on a number of good reviews and we were not disappointed in the slightest. We dropped our luggage in the morning and returned at check-in time. We had the keiseki set dinner and Japanese style breakfast in the morning; on both occasions the food was outstanding and plentiful. Certainly some of the best meals we had enjoyed during our two-week tour of Japan. The Japanese bathhouse situated in the basement was an amazing experience as well. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit in Kyoto!!
4 out of 5
by Wing Kwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and room size ! A very satisfyi

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location and room size ! A very satisfying stay ~
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice location and great food!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The staff was very respectfull and attentive. I just wished some of them to speak a bit more english. All in all, great place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with my sister and her family. It was a very wonderful experience, hotel staff are extremely welcoming and service is superb. 8 of us had our breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Food is good and service great! Location of hotel is good too! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Takayama.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MY

Location is good

Posted Dec 30, 2015
The breakfast and dinner provided was terrible. Did not enjoy the food served at all. It tasted weird and majority of the items served were pickles and such. The grilled fish served was just mediocre.