Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler Arizona

Amazing service!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Service, design and comfort most of all the staff
Location: Golden Pavillon, Bamboo Forest, etc...
From the moment we checked in to the moment we departed never had such a wonderful experience! Food was excellent. Brief matcha tea upon arrival from out of the rain. Onsen was amazing, dinner was fab! I would recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location but very run down

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This place costs ALOT but do not expect quality, it feels cheap and run down. Popular with Japanese families though - maybe works with many people sharing room. Shared bath is nice enough though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamuela, HI

Excellent Japanese style hotel in Kyoto

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff walked us to the street when we checked out to wish us well on our journey.
Location: Centrally located to a number of shrines, temples and shopping areas.
Great stay and great breakfast in our room! The staff were very nice and made our stay enjoyable. The room was wonderful, and the Japanese style breakfast served in our room was a highlight of our stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Chic little spot

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very good property with excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Experience

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I have never stayed at a Ryokan, but having stayed at Matsui Honkan, I would definitely do it again the next time I am in Japan. The Ryokan is beautiful and conveniently located near downtown Kyoto. I stayed in a Japanese style room equipped with tatami mats and the whole traditional fitting. It really made me feel as if I was staying in a room in an older Japan era. The bath in the basement is beautiful and very relaxing and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. I wanted to try traditional Japanese Kaiseki (which you normally have to book well ahead of time) but to my surprise, not only did they try to find places for me, one of the hotel staff ran out to a local kaiseki restaurant to ask in person and the restaurant managed to accomodate me when they were fully booked. I would highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic food, served in your room

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
We first stayed at the Matsui Honkan in 2008, and enjoyed it so much that we made sure to come back on our trip to Kyoto this year. The service is courteous and quick, the food _wonderful_, and the hot baths very comfortable. The staff knew that it was our anniversary, and gave us a gift when we arrived. We'll definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel - should've stayed longer!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Service, Cleanliness, Amenities
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
We stayed in the Japanese Room, Private Bathroom (For 2 Guests) and upon entering the level of service from the hotel staff was amazing! The room itself was quite large considering how other Japanese hotels were much smaller, felt good to have more room to breath and relax. The public bath that is at the bottom floor of the hotel was great. The only regret is that we only stayed one night, it would have been ideal to stay here longer and enjoy Kyoto more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful ryokan in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Traditional accommodation serviced by excellent staff. Exceptional food. Fantastic location.
Cons: No suggestions for improvement.
Location: Located in the centre of Kyoto - 5 minutes walk from Nishiki Market and other major shopping streets/tourist areas/public transport
We stayed here for one night only in a Japanese style room to experience traditional Japanese culture. After many hours of searching, we settled on this ryokan based on a number of good reviews and we were not disappointed in the slightest. We dropped our luggage in the morning and returned at check-in time. We had the keiseki set dinner and Japanese style breakfast in the morning; on both occasions the food was outstanding and plentiful. Certainly some of the best meals we had enjoyed during our two-week tour of Japan. The Japanese bathhouse situated in the basement was an amazing experience as well. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit in Kyoto!!
4 out of 5
by Wing Kwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and room size ! A very satisfyi

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location and room size ! A very satisfying stay ~