Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
It was a good location, clean, room was small................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sasebo

Wonderful Hotel, Great Location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff, Onsen, Breakfast... all amazing!
Cons: We used the onsen often and quickly ran out of towels. It would be nice to have onsen towels stocked in the dressing room of the onsen.
We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel staff were wonderful and many spoke English which was a bonus. The room was clean, well decorated and roomy for a Japanese hotel. The onsen was small but clean and had a beautiful Japanese Garden to look out onto. My husband and I both have tattoos and no one said a thing. I think it is important to know the culture and etiquette and find that I rarely get comments or sideway glances if I am acting as everyone else. The breakfast buffet was very good. The dishes were fresh and thoughtfully prepared. They offered breads, french toast, cereal, and fruits for those who do not like traditional Japanese breakfast. The hotel location was excellent. We walked to Kiyomizudera Temple, Gion, Shijo-dori street, and Nijo Castle. We took a taxi (2000 yen) to the other side of town to visit the Golden Pavillion and Ryoanji Garden. The hotel was right across the street from a Starbucks and the most delicious Italian Restaurant called Due which was amazing after a long day touring around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Just Not Quite Right

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Cons: Staff help.
I've been to Kyoto 5 times. This place is in a Reasonably good location and is very clean. But. Postage stamp rooms, not even a closet! Compartment bathroom with 6'-3" ceilings! No lobby bar. Restaurant is like a cafeteria and only open a few hours a day. But the worst is the lobby staff, they have absolutely no knowledge of local restaurants. I also asked them to make dinner reservations for me and they weren't able to! I won't return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Good locatiin. Very small room for western fix. No

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Had to jump over the open luggage since there arw no closet to hang our close
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ausrralia

Great place

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Close to train close to shops very convirnient. The staff where amazing. Hotel room a little old but it didn't matter
Cons: No faults at all. Everything was to my liking so can't lost anything.
Location: Close to train close to shops close to sights very convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Hotel is very convenience. staff are very nice and provide lots of travel information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Close proximity to train station

Posted Jul 11, 2016
I stayed two nights in this hotel and one night in another of the group hotel just down road. I prefer this hotel and regretted not staying here for the third night. Overall, my husband & I love this hotel for its proximity to train station, cleanliness, reasonably priced rooms and awesome traditional Japanese breakfast! For the ladies, you can skip bringing your own body soap, shampoo & conditioner as the hotel provides good quality ones in huge bottles! But if I have to nickpick that would be (1) the check-in staff being slightly careless/forgetful. I ordered a wifi token to be delivered to the hotel the very morning. And when I asked for it, the staff just abruptly said there is no such delivery. It was until I asked for them to check again, they found my pacel. (2) This hotel do NOT do restuarant reservations in advance. So do not bother asking them to help! They would only do so after you have checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to subway

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Nice & clean 3 single beds room. Although Hotel is not near Kyoto Station, there are 2 subway stations which are within walking distance. I stayed for 3 nights and it was a pity that I didn't try the public bath. I will recommend this hotel for its reasonable rates. The staff generally were friendly, except one who was worried that I might not return their umbrella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice hotel close to the action

Posted Jun 20, 2016
A nice hotel located within walking distance of the shopping area in Kyoto which makes it super convenient. We had a room with 4 beds, the public bath was very relaxing after a long walk through town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and pleasant hotel in central Kyoto

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Reception areas are very attractive and hotel is in an excellent location on a very pleasant and quiet street.
Cons: Bathrooms are clean and functional, but rather basic.
Location: Excellent location in central Kyoto.
Good value hotel in central Kyoto on a very pleasant and quiet street. Reception areas are very attractive and hotel has a small onsen overlooking a garden. Guest rooms and communal areas are pleasingly decorated and are light and airy. Rooms are simple but well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and small fridge. Bathrooms are rather basic, but completely functional and very clean.