Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Authentic Ryokan ran by friendly people.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Located in the old town area of Kyoto and 10 mins walk into the busiest shopping/eating areas just over the river. Really authentic place ran by warm and friendly people. The rooms are as you'd expect in a Ryokan and the bathing rooms were as good as a spa we'd paid for a few days earlier, really nice. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in Gion District

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, great location, comfortable. A bit pricey, but very worth it if you are looking to get the Japanese ryokan experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel with amazing staff. Very traditional Japanese which is great fun to experience. The stay was made by the staff, very friendly, always available to help and genuinely wanted to make us have the best stay. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, authentic

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: very Japanese experience
Cons: nothing, it's all good
Location: in heart of temple district
The ryokan is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the meals are great, the hot baths are great, and the essential modern conveniences are available (wifi, phones, AC). The room was very comfortable, but as the ryokan is traditional guests are required to use futons and low tables- so it's not for everyone. I would love to go back again....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lifetime experience!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Location, service, personality, hosts, tradition, couple Onsen (couples spa bath), dinner
Cons: Nothing, everything was amazing!
Location: This ryokan is along the main pedestrian road to temples/ shrines/ and shops. It is also close enough to the more modern part of town
We were amazed with the location of this Ryokan, it makes you feel like you are a part of history! We were welcomed like family when we dropped off our bags. The host even volunteered a map to us with recommended walking routes through the old city of Kyoto until check-in time. When we came back to officially check in, a different host gave us a very friendly tour of the house (garden, baths, toilets, sink areas). She then showed us our BEAUTIFUL room, made us some green tea, served us a traditional green tea candy, explained how to wear our Kimonas for dinner, and reviewed our booking plans (dinner time, night and morning Onsen times, and checkout time). The baths are traditional "Onsen" in which you shower on a stool before entering the wooden bath for soaking and relaxing . You can book the Onsen privately or as a couple's experience. During times that are not reserved, you may use them, but you may have to share the room at that time. We had no issues with booking these baths and in general, had most of the upstairs to ourselves, so it did not feel like a shared experience when we needed to use the bathroom/brush our teeth. Dinner was AMAZING! After dinner, we had time to take another walk suggested by the host before our reserved Onsen. Everything was amazing, and the people treated us like family!
5 out of 5
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jun from Seoul

Best ryokan stay

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely the best authentic Japanese ryokan stay you can have. Top quality service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remarkable experience

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
On first impression, the ryokan seemed a little old. As time went on, we grew to love our stay at Motonago. We learned to enjoy the little things. The onsen bath and high level of service made the experience truly unique. The neighborhood is culturally remarkable and enjoyed walking around soaking it all in. We only ordered the breakfast at the ryokan, but wished we ordered the dinner as well. Everything was excellent and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Cary, NC

FANTASTIC experience at Motonago

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Motonago was perfect in every way. It was probably the most memorable 'hotel' I've ever stayed in....a true Japanese experience. The staff were EXCEPTIONAL. They were super friendly and helpful. The location of the ryokan is perfect too situated close to many great places to eat and within quick walking distance of plenty of temples.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from Centennial, CO

Amazing Authentic Experience!!

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
One of the most memorable parts of our recent trip to Japan was staying at this Royokan. Definitely take part in the dinner (and come with an empty stomach!) and reserve private time in on of the public baths. We stayed in some top western style hotels during our trip, but none as memorable as this.