Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

일본스러운 료칸

Posted Feb 1, 2016
일본을 느끼려면 일본스러운 집에서 자봐야죠? 기본적으로 일본 전통스러운 느낌에 서비스해주시는 분들은 친절 그자체!! 그리고!! 여기 가이세키를 먹어보지않고는 일식을 먹어봤다고 하지말라!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Remarkable experience

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
On first impression, the ryokan seemed a little old. As time went on, we grew to love our stay at Motonago. We learned to enjoy the little things. The onsen bath and high level of service made the experience truly unique. The neighborhood is culturally remarkable and enjoyed walking around soaking it all in. We only ordered the breakfast at the ryokan, but wished we ordered the dinner as well. Everything was excellent and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Cary, NC

FANTASTIC experience at Motonago

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Motonago was perfect in every way. It was probably the most memorable 'hotel' I've ever stayed in....a true Japanese experience. The staff were EXCEPTIONAL. They were super friendly and helpful. The location of the ryokan is perfect too situated close to many great places to eat and within quick walking distance of plenty of temples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from カリフォルニア州

京都のおもてなし

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: お風呂が時間決まりで貸し切りなのが良かったです。木の湯船がとても気持ち良かったです。
Location: 高台寺のそばで風情があり、とても素敵な場所です。
素晴らしいおもてなしのおかげで暑い中でしたが、京都を満喫できました。ちょっとしたサービス(旅館に帰ってくるたびに毎回ちがったお菓子とお茶を淹れてくれる、顔を覚えていてくれて玄関を開けると靴を出してくれる、等)が心にしみました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

高台寺

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Nearby convenience of some famous traditional restaurants and temples within steps
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebecca from Centennial, CO

Amazing Authentic Experience!!

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
One of the most memorable parts of our recent trip to Japan was staying at this Royokan. Definitely take part in the dinner (and come with an empty stomach!) and reserve private time in on of the public baths. We stayed in some top western style hotels during our trip, but none as memorable as this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Yin Foon Celia from HK

日式旅館元奈古

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
旅館就在五重塔前方, 位置很好。我5:00入住之後步行去遊覽清水寺, 二年阪和三年阪; 9:00晚飯後再去祗園散步,時間很充實。房間清潔, 服務人員有禮。另外, 因為服務人員在入住時候已經有一壺熱水一壼茶給我們,到晚上11時多想吃杯麵時, 暖壺的水已經不熱了;但服務人員都已睡覺,也不好意思打擾。我想,如果能在樓下茶水間, 有預備一個熱水壺給旅客自助就很好。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 한국,서울

편안하고 좋은 료칸...

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: 요리와 시설, 분위기.
교토에 도착하자마자 비가 주룩주룩 와서 기분이 우울했지만, 우리가 묵은 모토나고 료칸 덕분에 그나마 기분 좋은 여행이 되었던 것 같다. 사뭇 조용하고 침착한 분위기의 첫인상의 료칸은 하룻동안 지낼수록, 보다 친숙하고 아늑한 느낌으로 내 마음 속에서 변화하게 되었다. 저녁식사와 아침식사는 꼭 먹어볼 것을 추천한다.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monica from LA

Lovely Night in Kyoto

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
We felt so welcome and well taken care of Motonago. The staff was warm and inviting and the room was serene. Ours even had a tiny garden out a side door and the futon cushions on the tatami floor were snuggly and comfortable. The highlight by far was the bath. The moment we walked into the steamy room where a cedar tub was filled to the brim with hot water was nothing short of magical. The inn helpfully provides a booklet in the room on how to enjoy a Japanese bath. We were appreciative!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anita from Toronto

Great for Traditional Ryokan Experience in Kyoto

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
This was a gem of a Ryokan right in the heart of Kyoto close to the Gion and many temples and restaurants. We were treated warmly and the experience was one of a kind!