Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Modern yet traditional ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Dec 17, 2016
We stayed one night here, in one of the most charming and best shopping areas of Kyoto. We had previously stayed in a traditional ryokan in a different part of town, and though that one was nice too, Nishiyama was more modern, updated, with a sake tasting in the lobby in the evening, and a traditional tea service in the morning after check out. They were accommodating to a fault (allowing us to store our things before and after checkout as we explored the city), and positioned in a really convenient area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice feel of Ryokan

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The garden is very nice and relaxing! The public bath is nice.
Cons: The English can be improve.
We had enjoyed the stay and a good experience of Japanese tradition. The tatami was very comforty with cushion. It is very good for back. The location is good and easy access to the site seeing. It is convince to take bus about 10-15 min get to the destination. Also, there is Tea Ceremony every morning. The traditional Japanese breakfast was a good experience and well worth it (2000 yens). It has a plenty of food and lasting way pass lunch (you can skip lunch). The staff is very helpful and friendly. Wish they could speak more English, that will be great! Definitely will come back if I visit Kyoto again! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel with great Japan style living

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very cozy hotel with great host. Location is close to the shopping area. We had the breakfast at the hotel and it was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice japanese traditional feel

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Staffs were really helpful and polite. We loved our tatami room and futon. Bathroom was a little small however was fully equiped with all amenities. The public bath was a highlight and also their daily tea ceremony. Breakfast was lovely as well. Close to shopping areas n
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

It is good experience of ryokan.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Located in the mid of Kyoto. Easy and convenient, close to subway but we used local. So sometime it's hard to find the bus station and locations. But overall is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful Experience

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Attention to guests.
Cons: The onsen portion was limited.
Location: It's not far from the center of Kyoto.
Breakfast was wonderful and more than enough. Tea later that day was incredible. It was a very peaceful experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel great location

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Truly a traditional Japanese experience
Location: Central -can walk to all the main shopping areas and accessible to public transport for further away sites such as temples
Best experience in our trip to Japan Hotel is a traditional style experiencing the Japanese culture Beautiful rooms with everything you could need Staff were really friendly and helpful Great all round experience for our trip to Kyoto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Traditional Ryokan

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: It's a scene right out of an anime or manga. Very enjoyable traditional Ryokan.
Cons: Flooring seems uneven, makes me worry that it needs replacing. But does not feel weak. Just a minor concern.
Location: There are plenty of things to do nearby. They even offer bicycle rentals! You are easily within walking distance to several street malls and food!
If you are looking for a traditional ryokan, look no further. The amenities are very traditional but they offer excellent customer guidance through a printed english booklet and attentive staff. They provide you a room key that fits your door. When you leave for an outing, you must leave it with the front desk and pick it up when you return. The first floor has the dining area, a lobby and an outdoor garden and fountain. It is beautiful. The basement floor are the gender separate baths. They have a small elevator that travels to the different floors, there are also stairs. They offer a home cooked breakfast for 2000 yen a person. (About $20.) As mentioned, the staff are very attentive. They will give a tour of the hotel and lead you back to your room to ensure that you get settled in properly and understand the various traditional manners and roles. They have a lovely tea set for the rooms and it included a traditional treat. (I forgot the name, sorry!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel with an authentic ambiance

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: The Japanese breakfast/dinner is awesome and definitely worth a try. Just beware that is a traditional meal. So keep an open mind and try it once.
Cons: Nothing. everything was great
Location: Teramachi Market. Imperial Palace. Subways/Buses and Taxi Stands
This hotel is amazing. Definitely exceeded all my expectations. The staff were helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Amenities in the room was one of the positive things I loved about this hotel. Everything was provided for you even (yukata). The location was also perfect. Quiet neighborhood with a couple of restaurants in walking distance. The Teramachi Market is a 5 minute walk and a must visit for souvenirs and more restaurants. The Imperial Palace is also waking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, CT

tiny place, hard to get to from main road

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: traditional look
Cons: bigger bathrooms, but that can't change if you want traditional style
Location: couple of blocks from main road where strip mall and restaurants are located
I wanted to experience a traditional japanese hotel for the one night we were staying at Kyoto. We requested room with own bath, surprise the shower was so tiny you could barely fit in. It would be better if you are ok with using the public bath in the lower level. The room was overall ok, futons were not as comfortable as we imagine, but adding comforter to under it made it ok. Breakfast was included but was served at specific times, we were in a rushed and couldn't enjoy it, but that was our fault. Go there if you have time to relax and enjoy.