Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Value For Money

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: We stayed as a family of 4 with teenagers and loved the traditional feel to the house. Our room had a nice courtyard garden view.
Cons: We felt the cleaning services were a little disorganised. Staff came when asked to our room, but the rest of the facilities were a bit neglected.
Location: Quite close to restaurants, temples and cultural activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

enjoyed the warm of hospitality

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Small street, about a mile from Kyoto Station. too far to walk too close by taxi ¥800 but not all driver knows the exact location. Wall is thin and can hear people laughing and talking. Might need to consider if we have more than a night stay but people are very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anthony from New York

Cute traditional style place

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful little traditional style room. Clean and aesthetic, great for a traditional look and feel on a budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

A bit pricey

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: For the novelty of staying in a Ryokan.
Location: We didn't get to explore the neighborhood as there doesn't seem to be much to explore.
This place is fine for a 1st time experience in a Ryokan. I won't stay here again only because it's too pricey even for Kyoto. We have two kids traveling with us and we had to whisper to each other as the other rooms were too close and the walls were very thin. For us, it was a place to come back to at night to sleep. There was not enough space to do anything else (even though I did get to go online to check my emails on my laptop)
4 out of 5
by jade from Singapore

Ryokan

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was really good so we stayed an extra night. The only thing is that the mats for sleeping on the floor seemed quite old so were not as comfy and fluffy as expected making it a little uncomfortable. But overall would recommend this Ryokan!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy. hard to find. shared bathroom and toilets

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
First "hotel" in Kyoto cold unfriendly welcom room very clean
1 out of 5
by Fong from KL

overpriced, not centralized and uncomfortable slee

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
The ryokan is overpriced. Basic ammenities such as toothbrush and toothpaste not provided. The tatami given is too thin, or it is just a foldable portable thin mattress. Hard to locate it and is not centralize to any shopping. Since it situated in a neighbourhood with lots of small streets, is too easy for travellers to misd their path. Not a comfortable stay after a long day if walking sightseeing. We stay in room with private bathroom but can hear snoring of the guest of stay upstairs. With this price 11,200yen, i can easily get a 3stars hotel at shopping district.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Beautiful little traditional Japanese house

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Free Wi-Fi in room, A/C, hot and cold running water, common area with laundry machines, English-speaking and very friendly staff, a small restaurant and bar, and walking distance from Kyoto Station. The house is made of traditional building materials, so the walls are pretty thin and you can sometimes hear people in the other rooms. But everyone generally follows the house rules and keeps the volume down. If you're looking for something more traditional, I can't recommend this place highly enough.