Ratings based on 870 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Somewhat dated, but clean.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: I was able to book it at a good price.
Cons: Very few television channels, and the English version of CNN could not be heard due to concurrent Japanese translation. The hotel seemed outdated.
Location: Too much train noise, but the Aeon Mall was next door and was convenient.
The hotel lounge offered a breakfast which was a bit strange. Not only was it a bit expensive, but you sit on a lounge couch and eat your breakfast at a coffee table. At least that is where we sat instead of at a proper table with upright chairs. It was not relaxing to me to have my breakfast sitting on a couch reaching over to a low coffee table to eat. Also, the hotel was across the street from the original part of the Kyoto train station, so we could hear quite a bit of train traffic during the day and in the early morning. On our previous trip to Kyoto, we stayed at the Kyoto Century Hotel which is on the newer side of the train station where there are more shops and restaurants and less actual train traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool. UK

Great Location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All satisfactory.
Location: Close to train and bus stations to access everywhere. Great options for food.
Great location very close to train station and many eateries of all budgets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, pretty center location in Kyoto

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location and appearance
I was very pleased. Check-in and out was very quick. There is an AEON mall right there... literally so you have direct access to restaurants, light shopping, and a grocery store. I was not expecting that so that AEON was a big bonus. The staff were nice enough and spoke english. The bed was probably the only con... it wasn't bad in terms of cleanliness or appearance, just a bit firmer than I would like. The toiletries provided by the hotel were really good. I loved the smell of the body wash, shampoo, and conditioner. They even have a mini fridge in the room. No microwave in the floor but the fridge was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC Area

Terrific location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Very busy tourist type hotel - lots of international travelers - which means a staff that is multi lingual and anticipates traveler needs. Hotel is just across the street from the West Exit of the Kyoto train station - making it also steps away from buses and subways. We had a very quiet room facing the courtyard. Would stay again and recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Not the best choice for international travellers

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Decor and Location were great.,
Cons: Attitude of front desk staff and restaurant staff. Cleanliness of hallways and comfort of room.
Location: Right across from the train station, is great if you're doing a lot of day excursions.
While concierege and baggage staff were super friendly, the front desk staff and restaurant staff were downright rude. No one likes a hand in their face to say wait - unacceptable. This is a beautifully decorated hotel, but beyond the looks it's lacking in many ways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitality is excellent. Very caring.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Hospitality, cleanliness, restaurants and bars
Cons: The room could have some shelves and drawers.
Location: Excellent location, Kyoto railway station across the street... Everything in walking distance.
I loved everything about the hotel and what it has to offer. I stayed there for 3 nights. the restaurant are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The convenience of getting around. The mall across the street with the abundance of restaurants to choose from and the train station was across the s
Location: There's a mall across the street. Kyoto Tower is a must see. Book a tour to see Kyoto.
The rooms were nice and the staff were very helpful. Everyone spoke English. The concierge took the time to explain to us about the tours and even booked the tours for us.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel close to Kyoto's main station, just across the road, also close to local train lines and buses. Rooms are modern and not a bad size for Japan, only issue I had was the bed was way to hard for my liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great hotel across the street from Kyoto Station

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious room, very clean and quiet
Cons: Can't think of anything that needs improvement
Location: Centrally located near Kyoto Station. Most things no more than a 20 minute train/subway ride away
This was my second time staying at the New Miyako Hotel in Kyoto. The hotel is very conveniently located right across the street from Kyoto Station. There is a Aeon shopping center around the corner. The rooms are more like western style hotels so more space than the typical Japanese hotel. Check in and out was very smooth with English speaking staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Convenient hotel but large and impersonal

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Very well located.
Cons: A little tied and needs some maintenance in halls.
Location: Being close to the railway station the New Miyako Hotel is close to shopping, dining and transport to all major attractions in Kyoto and surrounds.
New Miyako Hotel is very conveniently located near the Kyoto railway station. As a large hotel it lacks much of the warmth of a small establishment, but the staff are pleasant and professional. Rooms are a reasonable size but not well sound proofed so we could hear noisy guests in nearby rooms.