Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Facilities are inconvenient with the only sinks located down two flights from our bedroom. Service was rushed and impersonal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

No frills Japanese hospitality with good onsen

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Relaxed but authentic country inn
Cons: Staff was stretched a bit thin, could use more help
Location: Kurama is a short bus/ train ride away. The Jakoin temple is awesome, and about a gazillion steps. Really hot in August, Spring is maybe better...
The hotel is located in the hills of Oohara and has excellent walking to temples. Lots of places to eat a short bus ride away. The staff are friendly and helpful. Most visitors come up from Kyoto for an overnight or a long day trip. We stayed 3 days and the staff made us different dinner sets each night, normally it is a one pot miso chicken dish. And beer. The inn will send a mini bus to pick you up at the bus station, but it is a 10 minute walk Without luggage on a walking/ bike path mostly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel with outdoor hot spring

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Cons: Rooms may need update.
We enjoyed the outdoor hot spring. Meals were very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
部屋数が、たいへん多かったため民宿ということを忘れてしまうが、サービスおよび設備については、あくまでも民宿でした。久しぶりに学生時代の旅行を思い出した気分でした。
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by 大原の里, Hotel Management
ご宿泊いただきましてありがとうございます。 当宿は23部屋程度の民宿でございます。サービスも基本的に全てセルフサービスでお願いしております。 田舎のおじいちゃんおばあちゃんの家に来たという雰囲気を目指しておりますので、京都という事で洗練されたものを想像されるとご満足いただけないかもしれません。 シンプルですが季節の料理などもしておりますのでまた機会がございました是非またお越し下さいませ。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TW

服務好,餐點棒,但房間的霉味比較讓人不舒服,其它都很滿意

Posted Aug 2, 2016
日式老建築,但霉味過重令人鼻子不太舒服,建議可以加強這一點,其它都很完美,服務也很棒,強項果真是餐食。
Comment from Hotel Management
by From oohara no Sato, Hotel Management
泊まってくれてありがとう。 私は「日本の昔ながらの古い建物」を残す努力をしています。最新の建築を求めるお客さんには向いていないかもしれません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Hot baths in a Japanese forest

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The peaceful setting in the forest and the relaxing hot baths
Location: Near a shrine and farming village, I went for a run in the morning.
The simple accommodations and the surrounding Japanese forest combine to make this a memorable stay. I wish I had booked more than one night! The staff was very friendly and did their best to host us in English. The food was decent and making our own beds out of futons was a fun experience. The outdoor hot bath was very relaxing before bed and at the start of the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

寂光院の近くで、温泉がある民宿。

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: 温泉は小庭に露天の五右衛門風呂があり、小雨ながらも「やまぼうし」「もみじ」などの木々を見上げながら楽しめました。
Cons: 安価なので贅沢はいえませんが、特に敷き布団が薄くてに寝にくかった。また、チェックイン直後に部屋のポットのお湯がすっかり冷めていたのは残念でした。
Location: 大原バス停から徒歩で15分程度。またすぐ近くに寂光院があり観光に便利。
観光に便利で、温泉があるので選んだ民宿。ロケーションと温泉は気に入ったが、その他は価格との兼ね合いで我慢せざるを得ないかもしれません。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by 大原の里, Hotel Management
ご宿泊いただきましてありがとうございます! ポットにつきましては大変申し訳ございませんでした。ポットは掃除の際に置きに行く事になっていますが早すぎたのかもしれません。もう一度なるべくチェックインのお時間に近い時間に持って行くように徹底いたします。 敷き布団は、マットの上に敷き布団をひくスタイルでご利用いただく形になっておりますのでそれほど薄い感じにはならないと思いますが、もう一度確認する事にいたします。 当宿は民宿ですので旅館さんや都会的な宿泊施設さんのサービスをご期待されますとご期待に添えない事がたくさんあると思います。(バストイレは共同、食事は食堂で、布団引きはご自分で、等など。)その分、味噌や食材や温泉やロケーションの維持に頑張っていますので、そのあたりをご理解いただけましたら幸いでございます。 そろそろ鮎やハモの季節です。また機会がございましたら人気の鮎しゃぶやハモスキを食べにお越しくださいませ。貴重なご意見ありがとうございました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hk

日本鄉村體驗

Posted Jun 16, 2016
享受大自然....食物很好....職員慬英文... good experience ..........................................
4 out of 5
by ChuChuan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
景色や雰囲気はとてもよかった。 部屋にトイレとお風呂、洗面台がないのは不便。 聞きたいことがあって事前に電話したが、2回とも出なかった。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2016 by 大原の里, Hotel Management
ご宿泊いただきましてありがとうございます。 当宿は昔ながらの民宿として運営しておりますのでバストイレは共同利用をお願いしております。ご不便かもしれませんがどうかご理解のほどよろしくお願いいたします。 お電話に関しましては二回線同時に出れるようになっていますが、時間や季節によっては両方とも塞がっている場合がございます。当宿は少ない人数で運営している民宿ですので、どうかそのあたりの事もご理解いただけましたら幸いでございます。