Ratings based on 1,282 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Markham, ON

Six minute walk to Kyoto Station

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The hotel is nicely and simply decorated. Overall, a very comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Nice shuttle bus to Kyoto station. Stayed at Rihga in Hiroshima and fully satisfied. Rihga Kyoto experience was not as fulfilling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel near transportation

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Very clean, quite and very good services. Very good hotel near transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

One of the best hotels for the price in Japan

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room
Very convenient location, close to the central Kyoto station with many shops and restaurants around. Big, clean and comfortable room. Staff was very helpful on guiding us. This hotel made our visit to Kyoto even more enjoyable. Highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Felt like a Dorm Room...

Posted Jul 11, 2017
When booking online the photos for this hotel seemed okay, for the price point I was expecting a little better than what it was. The bathroom was dingy and felt old, the room was just okay. It was clean but more like a dorm room then hotel. The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the main terminal which is a far walk in the summer! We tried to use the shuttle as much as possible but its always running behind schedule and sometimes there wouldn't be space for us on it! Also, did laundry, BIG MISTAKE!! I specifically called housekeeping to ask how they wanted me to separate laundry from drycleaning and they said put it in one bag. I confirmed a couple more times... In the end a sweater was shrunk to kid size and the material was completely ruined...they tried to "fix it" and literally made me sit in their lobby for an hour showing them the brand website to prove price. I wanted to pull my hair out in frustration as we wasted our vacation time dealing with this instead. In the end they paid me for my sweater, however they charged me for the drycleaning of another item they drycleaned in place of the sweater - they argued with me that the tag said drycleaning - on coming home and unpacking I checked, it didn't as I told them it wouldn't! I just thought it was petty. They involved 4-5 staff members to make a decision on what the pay me back, a good hotel wouldn't have charged for the laundry period at this point. If you decide to stay, don't trust them with your laundry!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We are truly and deeply sorry for the misunderstanding regarding your laundry, and that the room didn't meet your standards. Please know that our staff are doing their utmost to ensure that these mistakes will not be made in the future. In addtion, while our shuttle bus may run late during peak hours of traffic or holidays, our hotel is only about a 7-minute walk from Kyoto Station. We apologize that our staff did not explain the most direct route. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have enjoyed. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: The hotel is close to the central train station
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased by the staff and room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our staff truly appreciates your kind words. While our hotel is only about a 7-minute walk from Kyoto Station, we hope you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle bus, which commutes to and from the station every 15 minutes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quality of roomms

Posted Jul 10, 2017
From the outside hotel looks dated. But rooms have been updated and were fantastic - clean and comfortable with really impressive bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our staff truly appreciates your kind words. During your next visit, please feel free to try one of our six restaurants, including Top of Kyoto, the city's only revolving restaurant that offers fine French cuisine. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great stay! Very convienient location and staff extremely helpful and welcoming! Definitely recommended if you are staying in Kyoto. Room was nice and spacious. Walking distance from Kyoto station. Spent 3 nights there and we loved every minute of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large, good value hotel close to train station

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Particularly nice is the large breakfast buffet which includes cereals, pastry, a range of fresh vegetables and fruits and various boiled and fried dishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Excellent hotel near Kyoto station. Staff from the bell desk to the Hotel maids concierge and front desks were extremely helpful and accommodating. we would definitely go back again.