Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very classy.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Classy hotel near Kyoto station. Very helpful staff. Had an excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! Our staff truly appreciates your kind words. During your next stay, perhaps you can enjoy Top of Kyoto, our revolving restaurant that offers fine French cuisine and a panoramic view of the city. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong, HK

Noisy hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Too close to railway track which emits a lot of noise even at night. I chose a non-smoking room but from time to time, I could smell cigarette smoke in my room. I complained to the hotel but they just ignored my complain. I lived on the Executive floor but the room is a bit old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Unfortunately, during peak tourism seasons, it may be difficult to make last minute room rearrangements. It is also possible that our staff misunderstood your request and could not properly convey the situation in detail. For that we deeply apologize. We would also like to apologize for the smell of cigarettes. Although our housekeeping staff is doing their utmost to ensure that guests cannot smell cigarette smoke on non-smoking floors, it is clear that more needs to be done to keep the air clear of smoke. We thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, The Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Only a 5 minute walk to Kyoto station. Nice and convenient.
Good choice. Noting super spectacular but lots of room and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We hope that you will consider staying with us again, and that we will be able to exceed your expectations during your next visit. Sincerely, The Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very clean and fantastic staff. Location a bit off Kyoto station but shuttle bus provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! As you've found it nice that our hotel is just 7 minutes' walk form Kyoto Station, and that for convenience to the guests with baggage, we have free shuttle bus service which runs every 15 minutes between Kyoto Station and the hotel from 7:30AM to 9:00PM, please enjoy Top of Kyoto, one of our six restaurants, which offers a spectacular 360-degree view of the city and features a fusion of Japanese and French cuisine during your next visit. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Korea

Well maintained hotel near Kyoto station

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Room cleanliness. Hotel staff.
Cons: None.
Location: Close to Kyoto station. From the station, we could go easily to any place in Kyoto by bus. There are lots of shops and restaurants near the station.
We enjoyed staying at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto. Amenities are good. There is a shuttle bus from Kyoto station to the hotel. It is convenient. Hotel staffs are very kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! During your next stay, please enjoy one of our six restaurants, including Top of Kyoto, which offers a spectacular 360-degree view and features a fusion of Japanese and French cuisine. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel large rooms spacious

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Free shuttle
Location: 7-11 nearby
Only setback toilet is rather noisy due to the constant water flowing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice hotel close to Kyoto Station. Spacious room.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Easy to access.
Cons: The window design. Wordings to be provided to guests to be careful.
Location: Kyoto Station, a large shopping mall. Railway Museum A sceneric park.
Easy access to the hotel and feel comfortable and enjoyable to stay at this Hotel. Convenient to other scenic area. Frequent shuttle bus service to guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

overpriced hotel with unprofessional service

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Front line staff not helpful. Their responses are blunt and sometimes they pretend not noticing you need help. shuttle bus left earlier than schedule, which is horrible as the hotel is quite far from train station. We lived on the executive floor but even so the room is unreasonably small given the rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Comfy, spacious and clean rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2016
I was staying in Kyoto for three nights. Most of the hotel rooms I saw in the area when I was booking for accommodation were small, but the rooms of this hotel are on the contray. It was a great place to rest every night coming back after a day of walking in the city. Would definitely come back when I revisit Kyoto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Kyoto Station

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: It's only a Y600 taxi drive from station. They also provide a shuttle.
Location: Proximity to station. Shopping mall opposite station with food court. Temples within walking distance.
Newly refurbished hotel. Rooms are a good size. We stayed in a twin room. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. There's even a coffee machine in the room. Provide umbrellas if it's raining. Some directions to get to the hotel. On disembarking train head towards exit by going up the escalator then down the escalator. Turn left to go out the doors which will take you to the street. The New Miyako Hotel should be in front of you. Turn right and follow the street which will take a right turn. Go under the overpass in front of you, turn left and go up the stairs. Cross the overpass and you'll see the hotel on the right.