Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Donald from HKG

Gem at Arashiyama

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Its a gem right at Arashiyama, at night you get to see the beautiful lights from the bridge and at day is so close by the main places you need to visit/eat at Arashiyama. Room are not so spacious, and facilities are not of a high rate hotel, think of it as a modern higher class inn/ryokans, must try the breakfast, tofu and light Kaiseki cuisine. Free parking a bonus
5 out of 5
by Graham from Manchester

Great retreat in an attractive spot

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted a couple of days away from the big city hustle and bustle, and this hotel provided a very tranquil "ryokan style" retreat, but very close to Arashiyama's scenic spots. It was exactly what I was looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice stay in Arashiyama

Posted Jan 30, 2016
I've previously stated near Kyoto Station on recent visits to Kyoto but always liked the area around Arashiyama so I decided to stay there this time. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel as some of the other reviews weren't too good. It's not the most convenient location to either rail stations but if you like strolling through the bamboo forest, along the river or on the temple grounds it can't be beat, especially at the price. Staff was helpful getting me a taxi on a rainy day and spoke enough English for my needs. The room was large by Japan standards, more like a western style motel. I would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by Lee from London, living in Korea

This is NOT a ryokan.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Unlike the classification on the Hotels.com website, the Razan is NOT a ryokan, which was the sole reason for booking. It is a regular, albeit Japanese, version of a standard motel/hotel. It is clean and has a standard, but not exceptional bath house. I appeared to be the only non-Japanese guest in the hotel during my two days there. There was much, good natured, amusement from the waitresses in the dining room for breakfast at my ignorance of the foods available, also some well-meaning, but incomprehensible instructions/offers of help. Contrary to the claim on the website, wifi is not available in the room and only within a 5 metre radius of the centre of the lobby.
4 out of 5
by Yi Chin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chi Keung from Hong Kong

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are nice and one of the staff has reasonable English standard. The hotel is not too far from railway stations and easy to find.
4 out of 5
by Masaaki from 京都

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
嵐山の借景がすばらしい。周辺は夜間とても静かだった。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

사진과 똑같은...

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
아주 편안한 일박이었습니다.자전거빌려서 돌아다니지 못한것이 아쉽지만.. 호텔이 사진과 똑같아서 낯설지 않고 편안했어요ㅎ
4 out of 5
by Chi hao from 台灣

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
還算舒適,地點不錯,CP值佳!