Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Centrally located, clean but small rooms.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This hotel is centrally located near Sanjo-dori Street where there is plenty of shopping and food stalls. Nishiki stret is about 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are very clean, but also quite small. We had to get a bit creative with luggage storage. This hotel does not provide soap bars. Instead they have Mikimoto body liquid soap. So if you like your bars you'll have to byo. Check in and out was extremely smooth and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Modern and full of extras.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The in room extras, helpful staff.
Cons: The coffee at breakfast.
Location: Very central.
Very modern, luxurious and clean with so many included extras. They actually read our special requests, put our 3 rooms next to each other, added an extra bed and had things sorted out for us before we arrived. The pj's are a nice touch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
This hotel is right next to the shopping streets and nice walk over to the temple street that heads to Kiyomizu Temple. Location can't be beat. Once you get to the hotel, you can walk or take the subway to many places. It wasn't too hard to find from the Kyoto train station. We stopped off at the information desk at the Kyoto train station and they provided very good guidance. Our room was quite nice. Just a bit on the tight side because the space between the foot of the beds and wall seemed a little narrow. Our room looked out onto exterior stairs so that was a bummer. But the great location balanced out the non-view. We really, really liked the location. The hotel staff were also very helpful and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
superb service, very friendly staff, will definitely stay again in the future! highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Very Convenient and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
This hotel is a 5 minute walk from Sanjo Station and is close to many restaurants, fast food outlets and a variety of stores. The room was much bigger than other rooms in Japan and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a tad small, but it had all the amenities I needed. I really appreciated how they made sure there were power points on the bedside tables. The staff were extremely nice always greeting you as you came in and out of the hotel. The location is also close to a beautiful river, where you can stroll along to get to the amazing Gion district. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for exploring central Kyoto

Posted Nov 24, 2016
One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Staff were excellent. Breakfasts a real treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in Kyoto

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Easy walking distance to sights, shopping and transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Great hotel and location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Wonderful location in the midst of lots of interesting retail activities. Just a couple of blocks to the River, easy access to subway, bus and train, close to Gion. Nice buffet breakfast, lovely rooms, nice artwork and common areas.
Cons: No complaints, except it's hard to get in anymore due to increased visitors to Kyoto
Location: Great shopping, the Teramachi covered arcade market is near. Bike rental is a couple of blocks away, as is the River, Pontchoko, and other delights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Good location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
It is a convenient location. You can practically go anywhere since it's near the bus stops, subway and train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Wonderful property in the heart of Kyoto!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Bright, modern, clean, and comfortable. Conveniently located within walking distance to many sights, shopping, and plenty of good restaurants.
Cons: Perhaps a bit softer beds would help.
Location: Imperial Palace, Nijo-jo Castle, and Geisha District are only 20-30 min walk away (though in different directions). Good restaurants and shopping.
This hotel is everything you would expect from renown Japanese hospitality, attention to every details, and more - much more! The property feels new, is impeccably clean, and very well maintained. The room was incredibly clean, bright, and well staffed with every conceivable amenity you might ever need, with the exception of the mini-bar that we never use anyway. Everything inside is cleverly designed to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Perhaps the only minor complaint was that the beds are too stiff for the American taste. You will be pleasantly surprised, especially for the prices they charge. A true four-star property!