Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

교토 중심부에 있는 호텔

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: 깨끗한 시설, 정갈하고 특징있는 아침
Location: 헤이안 신궁, 이죠성, 등등
료칸 체험을 해보고 싶다고 해서, 알아보다가 알게되었습니다. 주인도 친절하고 가격도 적당하며, 무엇보다도 같이 간 가족들에게 료칸이란 무엇이다 라고 설명할 수 있겠더군요. 안에 있는 시설물도 모두 현대적으로 바뀌어있었으며, 깨끗했습니다. 그리고 아침이 포함된 상품을 구매했는데, 아침도 만족스러웠습니다.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely Ryokan!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Stayed at this Ryokan for five days. The room is comfortable & super clean. The location is good too with the walk distance to downtown & catching bus or subway to any sightseeings. The staff is friendly & helpful. Enjoyed everything there - the traditional Japanese breakfast, bath in the sento, every day's different Japanese snacks with green tea and lovely room. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Traditional Japanese Style Ryokan (Hotel)

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Check-in process was nice and quick. Staff spoke English and were very courteous. The room was traditional Tatami room with Futon - very clean and neat. If you feel apprehensive about the community bath, you can reserve a room with a private bath which is highly recommended. That way you don't have to get up in the middle of the night and go out of your room to use restroom. The hotel is close to a train station, bus stops, and 24-hour convenience stores. There is a cafe you can have a breakfast after 7:00am. We were satisfied with the hotel. But only thing I have an issue was that the wall seemed to be so thin that we heard the neighbors loud and clear at night. If you stay at the hotel, keep this in mind and be considerate and use indoor voice in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peter from Göteborg

Ett vattenhål i kulturens Kyoto

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Traditionellt japanskt boende med allt vad det innebär! Positivt annorlunda, mycket hjälpsam och engagerad personal. Ytterst välskött!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vania from Le Landeron

Je recommande vivement!

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Vraiment très bon ryokan! Calme, propre et le personnel est très attachant. Vous avez à disposition du thé, du café, des petits biscuits et des tabi les fameuses chaussettes japonaises avec le gros orteil séparé des autres pour mettre les sandales. Le ryokan est assez bien situé. Il est proche d'une station de métro pour aller en centre ville et sinon il y a des arrêts de bus pas loin. Le patron parle bien l'anglais donc il vous conseillera. Si un jour je retourne a Kyoto, c'est la que jirai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. Room is very clean and large, though bathroom is a bit tight. Loved the rustic tatami rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

美味しい海の幸

Posted Nov 9, 2015
鳥羽駅にある旅行案内所から、電話してもらい迎えに来てもらいました。とても親切な対応です。海にめんしており、景色も楽しめます。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

immaculate Ryokan

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Great room and facilities. The only downside was the noise from the room above us. Good location. 20 mins walk to the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristina Marie

average hotel experience

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Sawaya Honten was nice, but I wouldn't say spectacular. I guess for the price I was expecting 5 star facilities and service. The front desk person was nice, but not extremely helpful. Overall, we had a good time, but I was expecting a different standard for a ryokan. I would rate this hotel 3.5.