Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Part of the Kyoto experience

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: While located off the main tourist area, this hotel is clean (very clean!), comfy and has wonderful and helpful staff. Four of us shared a room which was incredibly comfortable. It was convenient to get to and busses to most tourist places could be caught near the hotel. We had an attached bathroom but the communal toilets and bath were very well maintained. Definitely recommend for the experience and the friendly staff.
Cons: Don't be fooled by the hotel's distance from the downtown area - it's still very accessible and less hectic, which was nice at the end of a long day of catching the many amazing sights of Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
A nice ryokan experience. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Japanese style good for foreigners

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Lovely quiet neighborhood near Heain Shrine. Staff is available & very accommodating. Large Japanese bath. Room is spacious & clean. Fully equipped w/amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
5-10 minute walk from nearest subway station in quiet neighborhood next to a university. Lovely inn, the staff is great and the room with private bath was bigger than what I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service and Location

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Good service and delicious breakfast (extra charge). Great location, because it is near the Imperial Palace, Gion, and other places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Well located for travel via public transit or shanks mare. Helpful front desk. Ofuro - hot soak soothes tired muscles before bed.
5 out of 5
by Paisan from Bangkok

Cozy and nice Ryokan in Town

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
we stay for 4 Nights,everything was great..service,cleanliness,shops and Restaurant near by..one of the best Ryokan in Town...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Wonderful traditional hotel with helpful staff

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: I liked most the staff and the small touches, like the daily treats and the socks they provided.
Location: It's about a 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station, and close to the bus for Arashiyama (home of the bamboo forest and monkey park).
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a few days in early April. Overall, it was a pleasant experience and I'd happily stay again. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Each morning, they greeted us and offered help on how to get where we wanted to go, such as telling us which buses to take and how to get to the right stop. In the evenings, there was a nice local treat on our tea tray waiting for us, which was an especially nice touch. I initially was concerned that we were directly across from a hospital; however, despite being in a room facing the street, we heard nothing. The room itself was a nice size, larger than most standard Japanese hotel rooms. This may have been because we reserved a room with a private shower and bathroom, which I also highly recommend if you're not comfortable sharing one. Do note, as this is a traditional ryokan, the walls are thinner than what you may be used to. This doesn't mean you have to talk in whispers, but a lower voice is appreciated by your neighbors. This also meant we could hear the water in the adjoining room whenever the shower or toilet was used; but, since we all seemed to be on the same schedule (late to bed, early to rise), it wasn't that big of a problem for us. The only other issue we had was with the bedding. The bedding is on the floor, and it's pretty firm. I prefer a firmer bed, so I was okay; however, my husband felt it was too firm for him and slept on his comforter for extra cushion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016
The overall experience is great! Location is great and close to convenient to take the bus to Gion. The staff are nice and they are very good in communicating using English. Room is clean and spacious with team and desserts on the table. They have public bath which is very good for relaxing. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back again

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Called ryokan to ask for directions after getting off the #206 bus. Staff waited outside to look for us to make sure we found the place. All the staff were very helpful. Room was clean and peaceful.