Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A hotel with beautiful garden

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: smoking should be allowed only in the area outside the room
Location: You can visit some temples nearby
This hotel located in an area that is about 45 minutes drive far from Kyoto station There are no grocery stores or restaurants close to this hotel. The hotel does own a restaurant however, if you do not like the foods there you will have a little problem. Sharing bath with others meaning that the privacy is poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BANGKOK

Nice garden Ryokan - Best in Fall's time.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful location
Location: Location is a bit far from City center and far from 7-11
Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice ambient, comfy and happy place.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, technology, documentation and help available.
Cons: Futons could do with some replacing and/or deep cleaning. Paid showers could be an annoyance, but at the same time 5 min of water is enough for all.
Location: Nearby Asakusa neighbourhood has an impressive temple. River boats around, Beer factory with famous golden...thing. Center is easy to reach by metro.
Yamazaki was our base for the first few nights, and it was an excellent choice. Tucked away in a neighbourhood near Asakusa and Minami Senju, it has all a backpacker and pretty much anyone without too much love for luxuries needs. The staff made an incredible job giving the place a great atmosphere and welcoming us, and they could not be more friendly. The very only thing I would have asked for is a tiny bit more emphasis on futon quality: a few hairs and an old sheet were the only down side. In general, very recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small local ryokan, in outskirts of town

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Small little ryokan on the outskirts of town, very basic and barebones, but gets the job done. There are several reviews that say it's far, but it's a 15-20 minute walk down into Kyoto to a couple train lines, which was fun to do, in order to learn more about the locals / local life. There is a JR3 line bus that runs right by the property every 30 minutes, as well as a local bus "8" that utilizes similar stops as well, both are good options. I wish they did run later at night, as it was a scurry to get everything done in order to get the JR3 bus in the evening at 9-930. Still, was a decent place to stay, might stay right in town next time in order to get the full picture of nightlife.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful ryokan in a lovely location.

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely ryokan. Very peaceful and the staff were very pleasant. It's within walking distance of Ninnaji and you can get to Kinkakuji by taking the JR 8 bus to the university and then walking for a little, or hopping on the number 59 bus. I hope to return again next time I'm in Japan.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
We booked this hotel based on the Expedia rating (4.1 out of 5) and found the hotel to be well below this expectation. It was very disappointing because the hotel was run down and there was a bad odor in the room. The staff switched our room but the second room was in similar disrepair. In the hallways there were items that made it feel like a home rather than a place we were paying to stay in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, but not again

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I have to say that the hotel looks way better than the photos listed. But as somebody mentioned, the rooms are separated with sliding doors so noise could be a real pain. My room was at the very far end of the building but could hear vividly someone chatting in the middle of the building, which is 3 rooms away from me. And you have to share things like bathroom, shower room etc. I think the experience is awesome, but I would do it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We really enjoyed our stay.

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were welcoming and flexible. The location is beautiful and walking distance to trekking routes and may sight seeing locations. Also, next to a bus stop that takes you to the centre of Kyoto and other sights. The room we stayed in was basic, but spacious, clean and had good facilities. The pillows were not comfortable, but no other issues were identified. They serve a lovely breakfast, which set us up for the day and the restaurant served good food in the evening if you do not want to go out for dinner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Drunk reception!!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Seriously RUN!! Not worth the trip. The shower curtains had fungus and so did the bathroom floor. Disgusting!! For the price you can get much better hotels! Called the hotel for directions and the guy that picked up was drunk! Fortunately someone else from the reception came out of the hotek to guide us. The GPS address was taking us behind the building and so we were confused and had to call the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Miami, Fl

First Ryokan Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time at Ryokan Yamazaki. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. The food was also delicious. For breakfast we were able to pick between a Japanese and Western style breakfast. Location is a bit far from main Kyoto sightseeing locations but there is a bus stop about 3 minutes walk away, so it wasn't a problem. The room was spacious, beds are comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. Note: if you are over 6 feet tall your head might end up touching the ceiling when showering :)