Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A hotel with beautiful garden

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: smoking should be allowed only in the area outside the room
Location: You can visit some temples nearby
This hotel located in an area that is about 45 minutes drive far from Kyoto station There are no grocery stores or restaurants close to this hotel. The hotel does own a restaurant however, if you do not like the foods there you will have a little problem. Sharing bath with others meaning that the privacy is poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BANGKOK

Nice garden Ryokan - Best in Fall's time.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful location
Location: Location is a bit far from City center and far from 7-11
Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
We booked this hotel based on the Expedia rating (4.1 out of 5) and found the hotel to be well below this expectation. It was very disappointing because the hotel was run down and there was a bad odor in the room. The staff switched our room but the second room was in similar disrepair. In the hallways there were items that made it feel like a home rather than a place we were paying to stay in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Drunk reception!!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Seriously RUN!! Not worth the trip. The shower curtains had fungus and so did the bathroom floor. Disgusting!! For the price you can get much better hotels! Called the hotel for directions and the guy that picked up was drunk! Fortunately someone else from the reception came out of the hotek to guide us. The GPS address was taking us behind the building and so we were confused and had to call the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
no additional comments. the food menu needs more options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ogden, UT

Beautiful and Serene

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The gardens were incredible
Location: The city was quite easy to get to once we figured out the buses.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the room was perfect and the beds were quite comfortable. The gardens were incredible and it was a great pleasure to enjoy them after a long day in the city sight-seeing. We did have a bit of a snafu in getting there - but ended up that we had gotten on the wrong bus from the train station. Make sure you take the JR Bus line! It's an easy walk from the bus stop to the Ryokan. Going into the city, take the JR bus to the regular city buses and make sure you get a map. Quite easy once you figure it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Typical Ryokan

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Typical japanese, beautiful garden, quiet, good restaurant
Nice Ryokan in a beautiful garden, helpfull staff. Located a little outside of Kyoto, not much around, one convenience store in walking distance. Fully equiped kitchen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Beautiful traditional stay

Posted May 17, 2016
Ryokan was in a beautiful serene location. Very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. It is a tad far from the town Centre. You can get a bus in or walk 15 mins to train station. Staff very friendly , really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, canada

Very nice feel to it

Posted May 14, 2016
We loved the location and the setup. It has a very unique, samurai-era feel to it. The only downside is the thin paper walls, which means you can hear all the noises from adjacent rooms. But that's to be expected in order to have the unique paper wall olden days experience. Overall, excellent facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Relaxing Break From Tokyo

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Aside from needing to show a taxi driver where the place was we have no complaints. Tucked away in the North West corner of Kyoto it is removed from all tourist destinations. But there are several beautiful temples about a thirty minute walk from the hotel. In these more secluded temples we got our taste of old Japan while avoiding crowds. The bathroom was fine. The beds were lovely tatami mats. Breakfast in the morning was about ¥1000 each and was yummy! Highly recommended for a more adventurous traveler.