Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Nice traditional Ryokan. Very hospitable staff.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Very Japanese. Perfect cultural experience.
Location: The bus stop is close by. But be careful with google, there are 3-4 alternative routes going to the JR Kyoto station but google doesn't know this.
Helpful English-speaking staff. It's much better than apartments or affordable hotels where you can only communicate during office ours by email or phone.
4 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Not too accessible

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Overall experience still ok, just that it's not so near to the subway and need to take bus. Photos of the hotel and actual room is different Hotel staffs are very friendly Breakfast is just normal and a little pricey
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Ryokan Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Wotif
The ryokan is a little out of the way, we loved it for this reason. Quick cab ride to the bamboo grove early in the morning before it was crowded. Also allowed for a quick escape when it was. The gardens in the ryokan are beautiful. Restaurant is good. Staff were exceptionally helpful & accommodating, all were very lovely. Rooms are older style & small but we left each morning around 8-9 & didn’t get back until 8-10pm. Bathroom toilet & bath are shared but this was fine. The JR bus no 3 took us nearly an hour each time. The quickest time was 40 minutes late at night, just so you are aware of this. We would stay again :-)
5 out of 5
by Sarun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For 1 night traditional okay - more NO!

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Because i really wanted to experience the typical Japanese ryokan, we booked a night here. Our room (deluxe) was really nice, we had a good view into the garden. Were on a low budget so we decided to cook our food ourselves. Unfortunately the kitchen was the worst and dirtiest kitchen ive ever seen! Bugs and dirt everywhere- we felt disgusted! Another thing - the door for the shower cant be locked, we decided to not have a shower :/
5 out of 5
by Yu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A hotel with beautiful garden

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: smoking should be allowed only in the area outside the room
Location: You can visit some temples nearby
This hotel located in an area that is about 45 minutes drive far from Kyoto station There are no grocery stores or restaurants close to this hotel. The hotel does own a restaurant however, if you do not like the foods there you will have a little problem. Sharing bath with others meaning that the privacy is poor.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BANGKOK

Nice garden Ryokan - Best in Fall's time.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful location
Location: Location is a bit far from City center and far from 7-11
Nice garden Ryokan / Tasty Breakfast and peaceful.
5 out of 5
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice ambient, comfy and happy place.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, technology, documentation and help available.
Cons: Futons could do with some replacing and/or deep cleaning. Paid showers could be an annoyance, but at the same time 5 min of water is enough for all.
Location: Nearby Asakusa neighbourhood has an impressive temple. River boats around, Beer factory with famous golden...thing. Center is easy to reach by metro.
Yamazaki was our base for the first few nights, and it was an excellent choice. Tucked away in a neighbourhood near Asakusa and Minami Senju, it has all a backpacker and pretty much anyone without too much love for luxuries needs. The staff made an incredible job giving the place a great atmosphere and welcoming us, and they could not be more friendly. The very only thing I would have asked for is a tiny bit more emphasis on futon quality: a few hairs and an old sheet were the only down side. In general, very recommended.