Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Peaceful haven

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Beautiful well equipped rooms, peaceful, with views of the hills, easy to get to by bus from Kyoto station. Very good location for visiting World Heritage temple sites and Arashiyama district and Takao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Charming Family Run Ryokan

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: The rooms were in the traditional style, with sliding doors, tatami mat floors, and futons to sleep on.
Although outside of the main tourist area of Kyoto and thus might be slightly difficult to get to, you get to see a different side of Japan that you might not be able to see otherwise, and from my experience, it was definitely worth it. To get to this ryokan, there are a couple buses you can take that land you only about a 2-3 minute walk away, but be sure to check the schedule in advance because they tend to only run every 30 minutes to an hour depending on the time of day. Taxi is also an option, but they tend to be fairly expensive, so I would definitely take the buses if you can. Because this ryokan is located in a very suburban neighborhood, things tend to close early, so if you plan to come in late, plan to eat before, or there is one restaurant about a 15-20 minute walk away. There is also a restaurant within the ryokan itself, and the last orders for dinner closes at 7:30. When you arrive, you can choose to reserve breakfast for the following morning, and they have two choices: a Western-style breakfast and a Japanese-style breakfast. Our group chose the Japanese-style breakfast; it was delicious and only ran us about 10 dollars each. The ryokan is definitely foreigner-friendly, and the staff were all very nice and accommodating. Overall, it was a great experience, would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Nice traditional Ryokan. Very hospitable staff.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Very Japanese. Perfect cultural experience.
Location: The bus stop is close by. But be careful with google, there are 3-4 alternative routes going to the JR Kyoto station but google doesn't know this.
Helpful English-speaking staff. It's much better than apartments or affordable hotels where you can only communicate during office ours by email or phone.
4 out of 5
by RAIVO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Not too accessible

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Overall experience still ok, just that it's not so near to the subway and need to take bus. Photos of the hotel and actual room is different Hotel staffs are very friendly Breakfast is just normal and a little pricey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Ryokan Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Wotif
The ryokan is a little out of the way, we loved it for this reason. Quick cab ride to the bamboo grove early in the morning before it was crowded. Also allowed for a quick escape when it was. The gardens in the ryokan are beautiful. Restaurant is good. Staff were exceptionally helpful & accommodating, all were very lovely. Rooms are older style & small but we left each morning around 8-9 & didn’t get back until 8-10pm. Bathroom toilet & bath are shared but this was fine. The JR bus no 3 took us nearly an hour each time. The quickest time was 40 minutes late at night, just so you are aware of this. We would stay again :-)
5 out of 5
by Sarun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For 1 night traditional okay - more NO!

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Because i really wanted to experience the typical Japanese ryokan, we booked a night here. Our room (deluxe) was really nice, we had a good view into the garden. Were on a low budget so we decided to cook our food ourselves. Unfortunately the kitchen was the worst and dirtiest kitchen ive ever seen! Bugs and dirt everywhere- we felt disgusted! Another thing - the door for the shower cant be locked, we decided to not have a shower :/
5 out of 5
by Yu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A hotel with beautiful garden

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: smoking should be allowed only in the area outside the room
Location: You can visit some temples nearby
This hotel located in an area that is about 45 minutes drive far from Kyoto station There are no grocery stores or restaurants close to this hotel. The hotel does own a restaurant however, if you do not like the foods there you will have a little problem. Sharing bath with others meaning that the privacy is poor.