Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic old Japanese style hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The gardens were lovely
Cons: Rattling windows, a few tired carpets and the furniture needed a wax and polish to retain its age.
Location: Lovely quiet place, near some temples. No shops nearby
I loved staying here. Having breakfast in a private room overlooking the lovely gardens was great. It was a little run down in places partly I assume to retain its older character. The staff were friendly but only one spoke much English. You will not have a private bathroom and toilet and must share. The windows of our room rattled when the wind blew and kept waking us up. When there you always feel the need to be quiet as the walls are thin. But all in all a lovely place.
5 out of 5
by yu mei from New Jersey , USA

To experience the traditional Japanese Life style

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Accommodations are traditional but perhaps could be updated. We stayed in the hanare, which is a separate building from the main house. The food was terrific and the people were wonderful. You are made to feel like either visiting family or royalty. The Japanese gardens are beautiful. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet. The property itself is serene.
5 out of 5
by Neha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Edgard from México

GRAN experiencia de un típico Ryokan japonés

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Espectacular experiencia de un típico Ryokan japonés! El ambiente, la tranquilidad, la privacidad, el servicio, las instalaciones, la comida, la vista, el jardín, etc etc etc. MUY recomendado para hospedarse en pareja. GRAN lugar! Vale la pena cada Yen que se paga!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan is overrated

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Overpriced, uncomfortable and poor food. Wish we would have stayed at a hotel instead.
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Chicago

Great Ryokan Experience!

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Yoshida-Sanso for one night after spending 3 nights at the Westin in Kyoto. Obviously a very different experience from a Western hotel, but very happy we did it and highly recommend to others. We arrived in the evening around 6pm and immediately went to enjoy our multi-course dinner that was included in the price of our hotel room. My friend is a vegan and they were able to accommodate her with a delicious meal as well since we gave them advanced notice. Our room was spacious, and we shared a bathroom with another room that was on the same floor. It was not an issue at all, as we never seemed to need to use the bathroom at the same time. Breakfast the next morning was just as elaborate and delicious as dinner the night before. After breakfast we walked a short 10 minutes to the Philosopher’s Path and enjoyed the beautiful cherry blossoms that were blooming. We made a quick stop at the Silver Pavilion. The staff spoke relatively good English and one woman was almost fluent as she spent a few years in NYC. All were very attentive and helpful. Overall, the Yoshida-sanso was a great, unique experience and I would highly recommend for anyone who is looking to change up the traditional Western hotel stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great ryokan and unique experience

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Shared bathroom was not a problem at all but the fact that the bathrooms are not in the guestrooms was a bit inconvenient. But excellent services by the staff who make you feel at home and the fact that this actually was a home (to a member of Japanese royal family) gives it a truly unique experience.
5 out of 5
by Quentin from New Jersey

Historic Ryokan

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great opportunity to stay in a historically important and beautiful house/ryokan. The house is full of interesting original architectural details and the garden is excellent. The neighborhood is quiet but there are bus routes nearby and subway lines are also a (longish) walk away. They're happy to call taxis for you as well. We were the only guests there at the time and received great, attentive service.
5 out of 5
by Maria from San Francisco

Fantastic experience

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience in beautiful traditional Ryokan
5 out of 5
by ping

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels