Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Service, food, room, onsen and all!
Excellent service, delicious food, happy stay! I stayed in Ryotei Rangetsu with my family member for 2 nights in mid-November. We have enjoyed 4 tasty meals in the room (breakfast+dinner) which were presented beautifully. The staff was kind and helpful. Moreover, there is onsen in the hotel. It couldn't be more relaxed to bath in onsen. Overall, we enjoy our stay in Ryotei Rangetsu and will definitely recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular Clean

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Very polite staff! Hotel is super clean and spotless. Breakfast and Dinner can be served at your own room or at a private room. Very quiet and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Ryokan!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Ryotei Rangetsu is a five star ryokan! From the minute you get there to the minute you leave, you receive top notch service. My wife left a pair of shoes at the ryokan, and the Ryotei had them sent over to our next hotel before we even had a chance to contact them! Overall, it was an amazing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unparalleled Japanese Hospitality in Arashiyama

Posted Jun 21, 2016
The most elegant, unique place we have ever stayed. The attention paid to us by the staff was astounding. The food was amazing with full Kaiseki meals served either in your room, or a private dining room. It is a five-star experience in Japanese hospitality and cuisine. The bedrooms are simple in the Japanese style, but with all of the mod-cons. The bathroom was amazing, with doors that opened to the outdoors. it is expensive, but restorative and unique, and we found it to be worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Wonderful

Posted May 13, 2016
We had a room with river view and it was gorgeous! Bathroom and outdoor tub were perfect and the room was modern and clean. Staff and breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Two wonderful nights in Kyoto

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Location: There are some fine temples within walking distance, an amazing bamboo grove and easy public transportation back to the center of town.
My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ryokan Rangetsu. Wonderful place with great room, terrific meals and fine service. We took advantage of the baths, and walked all around the very historic neighborhood. Highly recommended!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Breakfast in the room

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The breakfast, bathroom and quiet room.
Location: Close to Monkey Park, Bamboo Forest, Tenryuji Temple, the River, Restaurants and shops. But the JR Station is not close by.
This was our first time to visit Kyoto - Arashiyama. After arrived in Kyoto Station, we took taxi to go over to the hotel, approx. US $40. The hotel is nice and clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. We also enjoyed walking around the area. Nice restaurants around. After we checked out the hotel, we took 15-20 minutes to walk over to the JR Station and took the train back to Kyoto Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Lovely experience

Posted Oct 20, 2015
We wanted to experience a night in a ryokan and glad we chose this one! Very lovely staff, nice onsen and beautiful all round this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location and great property.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Great location outside the city and a beautiful property. Staff exceptional. Great views and a respite from the city and the crowds. Highly recommended by global travelers .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,ON

Nice hotel inside arashiyama

Posted May 24, 2015
don't miss the breakfast , all staffs are in great manner and always willing to help u. the bath equipment is definitely the best