Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Location: 花見小路去碰碰全裝的藝妓. 也可在附近租用和服遊八扳神社,清水寺等.
地方舒適寬敞又整潔,服務員也很親切有禮,最喜歡是浴室內的木桶浴缸,泡得舒服之有風味,食物質數也不錯,會再來呀!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by james p r

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Two Nights in a Ryokan

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: We slept on the floor. They provided us with comforters to sleep on. It might be more comfortable if they provided foam mattresses.
Location: Nothing much to do in this specific area. We had a driver/guide who picked us up every morning.
We decided to experience a traditional Japanese hotel or Ryokan. The Sakanoue was a terrific place to spend one or two nights. The staff is so nice but no one speaks English. The room rate includes a massive and delicious breakfast and a Japanese style dinner. If you like Japanese food, it would be wonderful for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fabulous experience

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well.
Location: Perfect location to explore southern and northern Higashima and Gion. We walked everywhere! Very safe at night.
What an amazing experience! The hospitality, food and location were exceptional. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel with friendly stuff. Nice food with good service
5 out of 5
by Ying Kathy from Hong Kong

晚餐是十二道菜的日式料理!

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
位置很好,就在祗園八坂神社附近,清水寺可以步行十多分鐘到達。日式晚餐是12道菜,十分精緻可口,同時也十分飽!日式早餐也是不能錯過。旅館員工服務很好,英語溝通也不錯!整體感覺非常不錯!
5 out of 5
by Christian from Pembroke, MA USA

Great Ryokan!

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay at a clean modernized Ryokan. Room was very good with private toilet and bath. Service and food was fantastic. This is a very different experience than a western hotel that you must try if you come to Kyoto. Perfect location in Gion. Try the Japanese breakfast at least once! Tatami, futon and kimonos...My 13yo loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macau

不錯的旅館

Posted Aug 4, 2015
客房舒適,整潔,地點隣近八阪神社,非常便於遊覽,景緻優美,周圍都有古城的風味....................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique experience

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very unique experience in Kyoto. Dinner was to die for. So good