Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Two Nights in a Ryokan

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: We slept on the floor. They provided us with comforters to sleep on. It might be more comfortable if they provided foam mattresses.
Location: Nothing much to do in this specific area. We had a driver/guide who picked us up every morning.
We decided to experience a traditional Japanese hotel or Ryokan. The Sakanoue was a terrific place to spend one or two nights. The staff is so nice but no one speaks English. The room rate includes a massive and delicious breakfast and a Japanese style dinner. If you like Japanese food, it would be wonderful for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique experience

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very unique experience in Kyoto. Dinner was to die for. So good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good ryokan

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: great service, excellent food
Location: excellent location in colorful, traditional gion section
very good traditional Japanese ryokan experience. quite different then a hotel e. g. you sleep on mattresses on the floor which are stored in cupboards during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from LA

Best Ryokan in Kyoto, Japan.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Staff beyond helpful, we felt like we were coming home but had never been there before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shannon from toronto

An authentic Japanese jewel!

Posted Dec 26, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay and loved the surrounding neighbourhood. The rooms are clean, spacious quiet and very zen like. We were with our 2 adult children and got a kick out of all sleeping together on very comfortable mats on the floor under cozy down comforters. We opted for our meals to be included. You have to be adventurous! Everything was beautifully presented and dinner was a multi course extravaganza. They include a menu so you do know what you are eating. It is an incredible experience The staff is polite and professional and went above and beyond. I became quite ill and ended up having to go to the hospital for antibiotics. One of the staff Naomi accompanied me and stick handled the whole process. Her English is excellent and I was so appreciative of her kindness. This was Japanese hospitality at its finest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Shanghai

Great location. Very nice staff. Lovin it!

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Great location. Very nice staff. Meals were so good that we enjoyed very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Location: 花見小路去碰碰全裝的藝妓. 也可在附近租用和服遊八扳神社,清水寺等.
地方舒適寬敞又整潔,服務員也很親切有禮,最喜歡是浴室內的木桶浴缸,泡得舒服之有風味,食物質數也不錯,會再來呀!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macau

不錯的旅館

Posted Aug 4, 2015
客房舒適,整潔,地點隣近八阪神社,非常便於遊覽,景緻優美,周圍都有古城的風味....................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nath from bordeaux

Ryokan charmant dans le quartier de Gion

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Nous avons passe 4 nuits dans le ryokan, ce fut un moment magnifique. Les propriétaires sont aux petits soins. Le petit dej japonais vaut le détour ! À recommander...!!!