Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles/China

Great stay!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Location: Gion! 花见小路,八坂神社,二年坂. Take bus line 12 to the Nijō Castle.
We had a great time staying in the Sakanoue Ryokan! Came with no expectation on tradition Japanese Ryokans, we were amazed by how nice they are! Pros: friendly staffs (always greet us, take out our shoes, ask us when we're coming back so they can make beds for us), great breakfast, location (located in Gion, very close to the bus/subway station)! Cons: No I'd totally come back to stay in Sakanoue next time I'm visiting Kyoto!
5 out of 5
by XiaoLu from Shanghai

Traditional Ryokan experience in central location

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
It took me a long time to find the right ryokan in Kyoto, as many are very expensive and some don't have private bathrooms. I'm very glad I chose Sakanoue, it has traditional Japanese hospitality, an older Japanese lady dressed in kimono served us breakfast every morning and was very friendly, the room is traditional style but very comfortable, with private bathroom shower and small bathtub, all very spacious. I did not try their Kaiseki dinner but I'm sure it would be great, judging by the high quality of their breakfast. The neighborhood is fantastic, walking distance to all major sights, we took public transportation only to Kinkakuji and Fushimi Inari shrine. Okamoto's kjimono rental Gion store is also just around the corner.
4 out of 5
by james p r

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Two Nights in a Ryokan

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: We slept on the floor. They provided us with comforters to sleep on. It might be more comfortable if they provided foam mattresses.
Location: Nothing much to do in this specific area. We had a driver/guide who picked us up every morning.
We decided to experience a traditional Japanese hotel or Ryokan. The Sakanoue was a terrific place to spend one or two nights. The staff is so nice but no one speaks English. The room rate includes a massive and delicious breakfast and a Japanese style dinner. If you like Japanese food, it would be wonderful for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fabulous experience

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well.
Location: Perfect location to explore southern and northern Higashima and Gion. We walked everywhere! Very safe at night.
What an amazing experience! The hospitality, food and location were exceptional. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Christian from Pembroke, MA USA

Great Ryokan!

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay at a clean modernized Ryokan. Room was very good with private toilet and bath. Service and food was fantastic. This is a very different experience than a western hotel that you must try if you come to Kyoto. Perfect location in Gion. Try the Japanese breakfast at least once! Tatami, futon and kimonos...My 13yo loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique experience

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very unique experience in Kyoto. Dinner was to die for. So good
3 out of 5
by Mattias from Tokyo

Short of expectation

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
I have lived in Japan for many years and stayed at traditional Ryokan. The combined experience has made me have very high expectations on service, food, bath etc. Unfortunately Sakanoue falls a bit short. The room was large with and divided in two compartments. The main part is where we had the in-room dinner. The general impression of the room is that it's worn and in need of an overhaul. The wooden bathtub was infested with mould and didn't look very inviting. Trying out the common bath that could be reserved, it turned out to be just too hot to enjoy. Location is great, close to Yasaka-jinja and within walking distance to several other temples and sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent ryokan in the most charming neighborhood

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
The best location in Kyoto, right in the heart of the antique part of town. Charming neighborhood, just like we go back in time. Hotel staff are extremely polite and helpful. Both dinner and breakfast are delicately prepared. Best Japanese ryokan experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good ryokan

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: great service, excellent food
Location: excellent location in colorful, traditional gion section
very good traditional Japanese ryokan experience. quite different then a hotel e. g. you sleep on mattresses on the floor which are stored in cupboards during the day.