Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B. Brisbane, Australia

Traditional Japanese style accommodation

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very spacious and beautifully presented room. Staff are all very polite and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful, traditional ryokan ecperience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
My wife and I stayed in this lovely ryokan for 2 nights. It was beautiful and a privilege. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, their English is adequate. The place itself is lovely with good furniture and abtiques. We didn't spend enough time in the ryokan itself, as we were busy touring Kyoto, but hope to be back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Traditional Japanese welcome and seeing goodbye by the side of main gate every time you are in and out of hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff makes stay more enjoyable !!
5 out of 5
by Yulia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Greatest Ryokan experience!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Our family visit in June was amazing! This place is beautiful, rooms are very comfortable and it is centrally located. But, the best part is the staff! Warm and welcoming they were ready to assist and fulfill all of our request at any given moment! Tomo you are the BEST!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Warm, inviting, remarkable.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Let's just stipulate the room is beautiful and the food is utterly extraordinary (don't even think about booking the room only option.) The issue with ryokans is sometimes can they cope with us clumsy foreigners. Well, we felt treated with courtesy, friendliness and they had enough English we never had a problem. And above all, they are warm. Here's a story. We checked out, and nine hours later came back to pick up our bags, very hot and frazzled after a day in the sun seeing temples. Our lady attendant who served us our fabulous kaiseki meal the previous night and looked after us spotted us coming in again, and 30 seconds later there were suddenly two glasses of ice water in front of us. They didn't have to, but the thoughtfulness is wonderful. Just do it.
5 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Japanese experience in Kyoto

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: It was truly a traditional Japanese experience, complete with futon and wooden bath
Location: The location plays host to a vast amount of tourist, but for those genuinely interested in Japanese history there's plenty to keep you busy here.
Being in Tokyo for a business trip, I decided to take the train to Kyoto to experience traditional Japan. Hotel Seikoro Ryokan looked like a perfect way to spend the night, after a day visiting the numerous temples and shrines in the area. A fantastic experience, I would recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
by Joanna from Birmingham

Brilliant hotel, wonderful experience

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Such an amazing hotel and wonderful staff. We had a brilliant time here, it really was a unforgettable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was awesome. Wish we had more time there.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Staff was so concerned about making sure our stay was pleasant. Wish we had tIme to use the public bath. There is separate mens and womens bath