Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada via beijing

Clean quiet close to it all

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Lovely stay. Staff were so kind and helpful. Some had minimal english others more. All tried their best. Breakfast was a nice japanese western fusion. Coffee machine was great! Room was bigger than i thought as all things in japan are super tiny. There was a great bathtub! We dont usually get these in china. Hotel had enough eats around the area. It's a 3 block walk to subway station. The hotel is 3 stops or 10$ taxi ride from kyoto station itself. Was very happy there. Would stay again. Kyoto - Osaka were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel staff were amazing! You can keep your luggage there before and after your check in so you can roam around the city. The only constructive feedback is that: The room was very very hot and the heating could not be adjusted. Other than that, it was a very comfortable stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Really good Japanese breakfast at a good price. Good location at major street, but not noisy. Not luxurious, but nothing to complain about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Budget Hotel for Visiting Kyoto

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, overall facility was nice and staff was welcoming
Location: Palaces, close to bus stops and subway, restaurants and coffee shops, convenience store next door
My wife and I used the Smile Hotel for a quick trip to Kyoto and enjoyed our stay. The location was very good and staff very nice. The rooms were small which I think is typical of easter hotels. The bed was also a little smaller than what we're used to (1.5 double). My wife and I are shorter and slender people and we were tight for space sharing the bed. Price was good, room was clean and comfortable. Good location for our base while we toured the city via subway, bus and train. Lots of outlets in the room for charging devices as well. The room also came with a plug-in air purifier that acted as a noise device for better sleeping. We would stay here again if we revisit kyoto
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located but lacks value for money

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are a good size for Japan, however, everything else is a a let down with poor and unreliable wifi being the biggest annoyance. The breakfast is convenient, but there are great cafes close by that are more pleasing. Overall, this hotel is very expensive for the what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Clean room and good location, but that's it

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The room is clean and close to Shijo subway station.
Cons: The room is tiny, the staff are not particularly helpful, the buffet breakfast was grosse. All food was cold, thankfully I could have cereal. No English Channel on TV. Cannot change air conditioning so room was too hot whole stay, had to open window and listen to busy streets.
Location: 5 min walk to Shijo Subway station which is 2 stops from Kyoto and also close to Higashiyama and Gion. But not JR so you have to pay every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very hot with no A/C, staff doesnt speak English

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Close to transportation and very convenient. Great food near by and close to attractions by bus, subway and train.
Cons: No a/c. Told to open window but feel not safe as access to fire exit staircase that can be access by anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They are minor language barrier at the front desk.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: very central,,, with shopping just nearby and palace, temple etc are just 5km away.
Room big enough for single, amenities good enough. washing machine are at 6th floor so beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Room is a bit small but I think it is common in Japan. Good location and friendly staffs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
comfortable hotel with a very good central location, easy access to buses and underground, friendly and helpful staff.