Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Bad not worth for money spent.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
1st time to stay in what so called 2 stars rating accommodation. Much worse than what was expected. It just likes hostel or hut. May be the other backpackers will find it ok but definitely not for me as a retiree.
4 out of 5
by TAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
It was good. I think the hotel is a good option for little travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Ok for the price and location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Location: 10 min walk from Kyoto station or 1 subway stop if you have luggage, so quite convenient.
We stayed here for one night as there must have been something on in Kyoto that weekend and the price per night for the few remaining hotels was $800+, so we decided to give Sparkling Dolphins a try. The staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. I was glad I only stayed one night though because the walls were paper thin and it was very noisy, both from the neighbours and the street. When booking here you know that it is a hostel so it was ok for the price paid.
4 out of 5
by john from Blotzheim, FRANCE

A great opportunity for a simple, warm ryokan

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great time at the Sparkling Dolphins. I have read some reviews here and you have to understand you are staying in a Japanese home. No shoes, only slippers. Wonderful to meet folks from all over the world at the long table. I felt like I was at a fancy hostel or a value hotel. Either way, it all works. Close to everything. Can't wait to return. We really appreciated the picture that the owners made when we arrived. The next time, they need to be in it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Ryokan style in a quieter part of Kyoto

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: For the price we paid, it is good value for the money.
Cons: Hallways and the elevator could be cleaner, since we cannot walk through them with shoes on.
Location: It is located in a quiet area of Kyoto with just a few restaurants nearby, close to the Kujo station and a couple of convenience stores.
Looking for the place after sunset was just a bit challenging since the building is unobtrusive and does not not have a big, lighted sign. However, following the directions to get there was easy enough and it is relatively close to the Kujo subway station. It is a small building (5 floors) with ryokan style rooms. The room we got was clean, and had a separate bath and toilet, and another wash basin, which was very helpful since we were a group of three.
1 out of 5
by Tomas from Ostend, Belgium

This hotel is a tourist trap

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: It was close to the Toji temple where I had to be on the following day.
Cons: Manners toward foreigners should be improved and amenities should be provided. Please have thicker futons for Japanese style rooms.
Location: It is located to the south of Kyoto station and it is close to Kyoto Toji temple. It is a plus point to be near Kujo underground station.
I actually wanted to write an official complaint to Kyoto tourist office about this hotel. I have been travelling to Japan twice to three times per year for the last 15 years on business and rated this country as the cleanest, politest and most efficient in the world. Ryokan Sparkling Dolphins does this name to shame. Firstly I and my aged parents, who were on holiday in Kyoto, were treated very insultingly by the proprietor. He only spoke about what we were NOT allowed to do and treated like children. In the public areas we were constantly watched in an obvious to see if we put our shoes off correctly, wore slippers and didn't touch moving screen doors. I know the traditoins of Japan!! If we would by accident touch a door the proprietor would rush out to move it back into place. I thought it very impolite, this treatment. Secondly the hotel is called a Ryokan, where you would expect a traditional type of Japanese inn. It is nothing of the sort, it is just a two star hotel (more 1,5). I was charged the price of a 4-star hotel, for a room. For this price there was no soap, no shampoo, no bathmat or toothbrush included. Towels were worn and used. After the first night, no beds were made up and with reluctance a new set of towels were issued. I have slept in capsule hotels with better service and amenities for a fifth of the price. It is a pity that this kind of place can still thrive and trap unknowing visitors as it is a black mark to a magnificent country.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, but not clean at all

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
the room and beds are not clean. Not hair dryer i can borrow. but the location is very close to the kyoto station and good for shopping around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Convenient

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
Free wifi but it did drop out frequently in the room. Japanese style room was clean and comfortable with nice clean private bathroom.