Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Japanese breakfast with friendly service.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
People were nice and very friendly for first time visitors. The hotel is surrounded by quiet, peaceful, and traditional environment, but I had a little bit of difficulties in communication at the reception due to their English shortage. Overall, my wife and I were very satisfied with service the hotel have provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is quite faraway from the Saga JR Station. The shuttle bus service is rather limited with two trips to from the hotel to the station in the morning and two reverse way in the afternoon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient bus station but room has no wifi

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
A bit disappointed because there were no wifi inside the room. Just a 15min ride to arishayama and an hour or more to kyoto station. The bus station is convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

MAJOR language barriers!

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The size of the rooms is not bad.
Cons: They need someone who knows English. I don't think they should be charging for coffee in a room that cost $200 dollars a night.
Location: This hotel is not really near anything. It is in a residential area. It is only a five or 10 minute taxi ride to Arashiyama.
This hotel charged me $80 dollars for my friend who arrived from Chicago and stayed up one night out of the three I was there. This was after I talk to a translator who said they would not charge me. There were major communication issues they charge you for coffee in your room just very bad the rooms are not comfortable. I was willing to look over past the discomfort of the room in the language barrier until the last day when they overcharged me. It took two hours to work this out even after I told them which worker it was that I talk too and also to a translator. I paid too much for this room as it was. I cannot recommend it to anyone after what they did.
4 out of 5
by Ricky

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Great hotel for a more "local" experience

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Multi-course dinners; "Japanese breakfast"; proximity to station; neighborhood dining & resources; courteous staff; clean rooms; firm beds.
Cons: No in-room wifi; "Western breakfast" earlier than 9:30am; no fitness center; a good English/romajii map of the Kyoto valley including the hotel
Location: Nearby eating: Time Cafe, teppanyaki, bakery, others; Mandai for groceries and day-trip supplies; shuttle to western side of the valley and trains
Overall the Sun-Members Kyoto-Saga was a very good hotel and a great fit for travelers with more experience traveling in and navigating Japan, including speaking and understanding basic phrases. The rooms were clean and well-appointed in the manner familiar to Japanese travelers, the staff were courteous (with very limited English), and the meals in the hotel restaurant were well above average. There are a lot of resources in the neighborhood for do-it-yourselfers and more budget-conscious travelers, including a laundromat, market (Mandai), and quite a few decent local eateries - including an excellent teppanyaki and bakery and a very good coffee shop (Time Cafe). The 'neighborhood map' provided by the hotel was useful for getting oriented, and the shuttle Arashiyama-Saga Sta saved time and walking, which you will do plenty of regardless. Taxis to and from the station were about Y560 and readily available during the day; at night you can have the hotel near the station call one for you. The hotel is relatively close to Arashiyama-Saga and the temples and sites on the western side of the valley, but conversely it is quite far (and usually 1-3 trains) from the attractions in central Kyoto and the eastern side of the valley, so factor in extra transit and walking time for your days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stuff was friendly. Hotel located away from city center. Rooms are very small to the extent end we needed to rearrange the furniture to enable open the suitcases. No wifi in the room. Wifi in public area was unstable. Price was low and matched our budget. Shuttle service provided in the mornings to the train station.
5 out of 5
by Wei-Pei from San Francisco

Great intro to west Kyoto suburbs/residential life

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Only one night stay, but had a lot of fun. Only con about the neighborhood was distance from subway (15 min walk), otherwise great, small town feel area. The hotel service was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Eugenr

Wonderful meals.

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful meals included ,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Joke

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Smoking every where, very poor Wi-Fi in hallway entrance where this is the only Wi-Fi, while people smoke. Not happy with hotel.