Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Awesome ryokan in the heart of Kyoto!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The cuisine served, location of the ryokan, and the onsen baths available to guests. Room size quite spacious for Japanese standards.
Cons: Futons for guests were very thin which made it difficult to sleep on the floor at night.
Location: Nishiki Market, Gion, Higashiyama Ward, Shijo/Kawaramachi shopping district
We stayed here for 2 nights during the cherry blossom season in Kyoto and it was a wonderful experience! This ryokan is located on a quiet street but it is within walking distance to a lot of Kyoto attractions such as Gion and Nishiki Market. There were also a lot of restaurants/options to eat nearby. Convenience stores and grocery stores were located nearby as well. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. We had free breakfast for both days and chose to have dinner at the ryokan for one night. The food served at the restaurant was extremely delicious and beautifully made!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Very nice accommodation. Particularly recommend the breakfast option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

A Bit Pricey

Posted Feb 25, 2017
I'm not sure what prices should be and maybe Expedia takes too much, but I thought it was just a bit pricey @$250./ night. Drop the price make a few improvements on the facility and I could give it 5. The location is great and a view of herons on the river was worth some money I reckon. And the breakfast was extremely charming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great location, easy access to train station/markets/shopping. breakfast was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Nice view Nice Staff Nice furniture I will definitely book this Ryokan if I come back to Kyoto again. Very nice Ryokan with reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely ryokan with a nice view over the river

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Wotif
We had a lovely stay at Tazuru. We used the public baths at night - a very unique experience and the baths were clean and a good temperature. Breakfast was lovely as well. I would highly recommend Tazuru for a ryokan stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Great ryokan

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great experience staying in this ryokan. Rooms were very comfortable in size and were very clean. Breakfast was Incredible and we enjoyed the ryokan's convenient location. The staff was also extremely helpful. Overall, A wonderful stay at a traditional Japanese ryokan. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by Ekasit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed there for 2 night, great location for shopping & dinning. The breakfast is excellent, very traditional Japanese style, love it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable ryokan

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
the location was excellent, just by the kamogawa. The ryokan was quiet old but it was clean. Breakfast was nice as a kyoto home style meal.