Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Unique and modern

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Hire a bike for 1500 yen and 5 min ride to imperial palace. Great morning activity. We spent a lot of time shopping and eating in our street.
Great location, comfortable rooms. Fantastic breakfast, paid for separately but well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel well located close to the Imperial Plac

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: hip, small and boutique
Cons: the only trouble was that the room was a bit dark with few windows.
we staid 3 nights in Tokyo and the hotel was comfortable, well located and reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is a boutique hotel conveniently located close to the center. After typical business hours there is just one staff member on site. They are very friendly, but ability to speak English varies. When Internet service for the entire hotel went down, the person available could not understand that, and could not be persuaded (due in part to his very limited English) to call their Internet Service Provider. Room is clean but pretty basic. Bathroom is nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful room; fantastic service. One of the most pleasant hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
by King Lun from hong kong

great.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
My son loved the gigantic television screen and the jacuzzi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 2, 2016
I can't suggest At The Screen, we stayed in Room 201, the largest room, for 3 nights. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. They helped us with reservations and they did their best to make us feel welcome. The room however, was uncomfortable and very dark. The cleaning services were also quite poor. The room was very quickly cleaned and our room was not neat after the cleaning person came
5 out of 5
by Lawman from Richmond Hill, Canada

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Service and fantastic designed Room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic spot, so that I'm nearly a bit loath to give it away. It is quite new and not all the taxi drivers knew where it was (n = 3). Very much a 'designer boutique hotel', with very large, individualised rooms/ suites- in the middle of Kyoto (beside the Imperial Palace). There's a very elegant bar and a rooftop for admiring the view from. Two of my Japanese colleagues were amazed that I was staying there (shows what they think I'm worth), so I think I got a super deal on it (it was very quiet, to the extent that I thought I was on a film set). I gather it would normally be very expensive, so pay some attention to the price. Breakfast was excellent, but expensive- of course, this depends on your budget. I'd certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the location ......

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I spent 5 days in Kyoto and stayed at The Screen. Location was great. Neighbourhood was quite which we liked. There are some good little restaurants in the area. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the markets and shops. Access to transport was very easy. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, fabulous breakfast. Our room (103) was too dark for my taste and the bathroom smelled slightly moldy. We missed having a gym but walked miles on this lovely street and city. Centrally located next to imperial palace and a fabulous find in Kyoto!