Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located and the convenience of a shuttle bus

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location and helpful assistance
Cons: Mattress and pillow
Location: Many temples and gardens and with a great transport network the whole of Kyoto.
We stayed 3 nights and found the hotel well located in the north east of Kyoto. You are 10 minutes from the Philosophers path that leads to many temples. You are also near the Shoren in temple and Chinon in. The metro station Keage is 2 minutes away. To assist with transport options you also have the hotel shuttle bus which stops at Sanjo stn and then Gion Shijo which is a great area for restaurants. The shuttle bus also goes on to Kyoto stn. We used this service a number of times. Our room was a Japanese style room and it was a good experience having the rice paper screens and tatami mats and futon. The Japanese style rooms are surrounded by lovely Japaneses gardens. The only downside was the mattress and pillows were very hard. We also did a nature walk in the hotel grounds test leads to a good lookout. We found tgecstaff very helpful with booking aca restaurant and assisting in transport arrangements for an eatY morning departure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing & Overpriced

Posted Nov 20, 2016
If you book this hotel through Expedia and need to make any modifications when you arrive, good luck. The front desk staff was not accommodating at all. We were put in a "family room" that was in desperate need of renovation. This hotel doesn't have any connecting rooms for families so you're really stuck with a bad room if you have kids. On a positive note, the buffet restaurant is excellent and saved the day. There is an indoor and an outdoor pool which the kids loved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and a long walk

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Fantastic service
Hotel has all the amenities of a 5 star hotel but everything is rather dated and could do with a refurb. Very disappointed by the daily charge to use the gym - everywhere other hotel I've been to gym facilities have been complimentary! The hotel is also a long walk from most of the main tourist sites and restaurants, although a shuttle is provided to (not from) gion and the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

good choice in Kyoto

Posted Oct 5, 2016
It is a nice hotel, the staff is friendly, I had a nice room... They just seem to be burdened a bit with unnecessary administration. For example, to purchase a breakfast I had to go to the reception (and wait in line), give them money, to get a receipt, which then I had to go to another place to have breakfast. If I wanted to have e.g. a coke with the breakfast, I better think of it ahead, because that is also something you have to go to the reception to pay... quite strange.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Friendly and professional staffs

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Convenience location.
Location: Visit temples, shines, other history sites.
Excellent services from the hotel staffs. Good restaurant's and foods to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Japanese traditional room is really nice.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Although the hotel is not located in city center, the hotel provides shuttle bus service between Kyoto Station and hotel which is convenient for tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Relaxing and spacious resort in Kyoto

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The close-by mountain views and panoramicity views are amazing. The location is unbeatable…quiet and yet can find some nice shops and museums within minutes of walk. Staff are mostly friendly with Kyoto hospitality. The pool is also nice in the summer visit. The food from breakfast buffet to room service to Japanese dinner are all up to par. We will definitely stay here again next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from town

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Far from town, few dining and transportation choices
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Not a Westin

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Although the hotel staff were nice and the service was good, the hotel is really old and is definitely not the same quality as other Westins. The bathroom smelled, the room was old and in bad condition, the air conditioner made loud sounds, and the common areas were really run down. This hotel was way over priced and I would not recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
We enjoyed the hotel staff and location we would visit again