Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and a great location

Posted May 27, 2017
We had great 3 days at the Westin. Great location for site seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique experience

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice, quiet, premium hotel conveniently located next to Keage subway station. Helpful staff who would show you to the room and explain how things work, and great breakfast selection. Well-furnished room and comfortable beds. Bathroom equipped with ample amenities and clean towels. Shuttle bus to Gion area and Kyoto station is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Sound quality hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Despite Hotel having seen better days the quality of service and general comfort level are good. Good choice of restaurants and close to famous philosophers walk. Otherwise need transport to visit other Kyoto sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, extraordinary staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location, easy access to sites, public transportation
I have stayed in many hotels in Kyoto. This one is my favorite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great, relaxing hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We stayed in a family room and was spacious. Huge bathroom. Walking through the awesome gardens surrounding the hotel was a great way to start our day! Disappointed that we had to pay to use the pool. The hotel was about 20 mins from Kyoto station, But the shuttle bus was great. Hotel was near a subway station. There are a few coffee shops within walking distance for breakfast as we didn't have it included and it was expensive at the hotel. Very helpful and kind staff. Great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hilltop hotek

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Particularly liked the balcony, with views and fresh air, and the bird watching trail
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Not what we expected

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The Japenese garden is beautiful and the Chinese restaurant is great
Cons: The 3 rooms that we saw on different floors were all tiered, outdated and in desperate need of refurbishment. Not to 5 or even 4 star standard
Location: Far from station and city centre, there is free shuttle to Gion and the station. Tours do not pick up from this hotel, you must go to the station
We booked a Japanese style room, which looked very attractive on the website. When we arrived we were taken to a small building outside the 2 main buildings, after 2 sets of old carpeted stairs we arrived at our Japanese style room, which was in poor condition with a strong damp smell. On request, the hotel kindly changed our accommodation to a Western style room, which was equally in need of maintenance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Location, But...

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This hotel is in desperate need of guest room revamp, maintenance & updates! The first room we were assigned had a floor space air conditioner in it and overlooked a mildew green non functioning pool that had an aweful odor that could be smelled even with the balcony glass door closed! They did reassign us to another room which had a corner style view; luckily we were far enough away from the odor, but the windows allowed street noise to be heard when closed; the furniture was stained, the wallpaper was pealing & the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor... It's extremely unfortunate to experience a Westin property be in this horrific conditions; the resteraunts were extremely over priced, with a meal averaging $200 per person! The breakfast buffet was cluttered, crowded & not very diverse; what was available was fresh, tasty & filling. Unless this property invests in an overhaul of its dated & dirty state, the disappointment of its guests will continue.
5 out of 5
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Excellent hotel.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, room size and very nice pool. Great shuttle service.
Cons: In our opinion, restaurants in the hotel were overpriced for the service provided.
Location: Superb location. Very relaxing.
Excellent hotel. Excellent location. Good size room. Nice pool.