Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Authentic stay with modern comfort

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at the Machiya residence inn, The team of staff are very helpful and quick to respond to your questions. They helped us with restaurant booking and tea ceremony recommendation. Staff also helped us checked train schedule for the famous Sangano train line. The inn is not easy to find and it is great that they prepared excellent direction and instruction to get to the place. We also dropped off our luggage at the Dozen Ryokan prior to the check in time and the staff there was also very helpful with giving us directions. A lady also came in to check in and walk us through how to use the room. It was good as the WFI wasn’t working as the password has changed but she quickly fixed it for us. There is also cleaning service every day which is nice as typically you don’t get cleaning for this type of vacation home. The house is very well equipped with cooking utensils and dishes. It is great for folks to bring take out and eat comfortably in exchange for the crowded restaurant scene. with enough space for 4 people. Don’t hesitate to reach out to them for any questions related to your trip as they genuinely want the guest to have a good time in Japan. Special thanks to all who helped out to make it a fabulous trip for us in particular to Hanna, Yuko, Maria, Taka and Alisa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
First impression of the residence was great. It was very clean and spacious. To our surprise moments later the neighbour was at our front door yelling at me in Japanese, all I understood was Shhhhhh. Later when we called the office they told us we needed to be quiet on the stairway to avoid disrupting the neighbour. Gosh I wish we knew that earlier. We had to tip toe on the staircase out of fear of being yelled at again. We instructed our child not to use the staircase until bed time. The residence was very poorly noise insulated, we could hear someone coughing next door through out the night, conversations next door and pounding could also be heard. The washer/dryer combo machine was not effective. When the wash cycle was completed the clothes were soaking wet. After the drying cycle our clothes for more than 3 hours they remained quite wet. On the positive, it had a well equipped kitchen, two toilets and a spacious bathroom. The beds were comfortable and wifi was good. Just remember to use the stairs with caution as you tip toe up and down, also ear plugs will help dampen sounds through out the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

stay like a local, in a house.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: We liked the still old style local house. Very kind man at check in, lot area information from him. Delicious coffee and green tea (not teabag ).
Cons: Cleaning lady was late because of rain. Quickly she finished it 5 pm during we were waiting for 2nd day stay.
Location: One Subway station from Kyoto Station. Quiet area. 7-11 is a few minutes away.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Noisy AC

Posted Jun 21, 2016
The noisy AC made our two-night stay sleepless. We contacted the staff and they responded because the problem came from AC itself they couldn't do anything but change the settings. So the AC was not cool enough buy still made the same loud noise. Too bad, this was a very nice traditional Kyoto townhouse. I would have recommend to my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience of staying in traditional Japanese house with kitchen included
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun alternative to hotel.

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Nice accommodation if you wish to live in a traditional Japanese house. But be prepared to spend time to find a check in location and then find your way to the accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little Japanese town house

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
It is probably the closest you get to feeling like a Japanese family staying here. House was a bit smaller than expected but location is great. Bathrooms are modern and hotel standard. Could do with a few extra cushions in the living room to provide some comfort.
5 out of 5
by Roland from Los Angeles

An amazing place to stay!

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
We had accommodations at three cities - Tokyo, Kyoto and Hakone - and this was the highlight for us. Our children (15 & 17) really enjoyed the whole townhouse even though it was small. It was in a residential area and we all felt we were leaving like the locals. The house was impeccably clean and even though it is a traditional Japanese house, the toilets (2), shower, bathtub, kitchen electronics are high-tech. It has a full kitchen (small but very functional) with stove, pots and pans, microwave, refrigerator. It even comes with a washer/dryer and they provide the laundry soap. It is only a 15-minute walk from Kyoto Station and there was so much to see on the way there. It was not hard to get to, only a small block away from the main street to Kyoto Station. We highly recommend this for families and even a group of friends. It can easily accommodate 4+. Great for couples as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

隠れ家レジデンス

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
とても素敵な滞在になりました。ベッドも居心地よく、よく眠れました。ただ、町家ということで隣の家との距離が近く、夜ドライヤーを使っていたら隣の家から苦情が入ってしまいました。音には気をつけた方がよさそうです。それから外国人の婚約者と宿泊したのですが、彼には湯船は小さすぎてしまい、可哀想なことをしてしまいました。
4 out of 5
by paula from Lund

Fint hus

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Underbart hus/hostel i japansk stil, men svårt att hitta. Inget engelskt namn någonstans heller.