Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Stayed here as I visited Kyoto and surrounding area for a week. The hotel is only a short walk to Inari station which makes exploring the city and getting to downtown quite easy. There is a bakery near by with great pastries and bread which were fairly priced and I could grab on my way out to exploring the city. If you are looking fora placeto staywith some comfort, I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small rooms, too far to public transportation

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Room is very very small. We were misguided by the user comments about its location. It is out of Kyoto. Not in walking distance to any touristic point else than Fushimi Inari shrine. It is certainly FAR from public transportation. The closest train station is at least 10-15 minutes walk and you can not reach Kyoto station from that one with a direct line. You need to pass the river and walk 10 minutes more to get to Inari station which is far better to use for going to Kyoto station. Too much time wasting if you will be in Kyoto for just a few days. A clean hotel but certainly expensive for what it offers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel a short walk to Fushimi Inari Taisha

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Convenient. Keihan Line (Fukakusa stn 5min walk) JR Line (Inari Stn 10min walk) Karasuma Line (Kuinabashi Stn 12min walk) Buses 105 and Minami 5 go to Kyoto Station. Marum Bakery sells fresh bread at 108 Yen each. Family Mart is across the road. Front desk is professional. Perhaps feel they are slightly more reserved due to language barrier. Room is adequate for me but may be small for bigger and taller guests, in particular, the bathroom :D
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, affordable, but cramped.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Highs: close to transportation (1 block from #5 & #105 buses, about 1km to Inari & Fushimi-Inari stations), clean, quiet, and a coin laundry on site. Non-smoking floors. Easy walk to the Fushimi Inari shrine (and if you can't walk there, forget walking to the top). Lows: meant primarily for business travelers, not tourists, so very little room for clothing. There's barely room for the 3 clothes hangers; everything else will have to stay in the suitcase or sit on the chair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Average hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Cons: Renovation of hotel
An average hotel. Quite a walk to Inari Station. Rooms are clean and functioning and toilets are a bit old but still fine. Convenience store right opposite hotel and a bakery right next door as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Urban hotel in kyoto

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
generally an okay hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

small room - located out of the way

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Was disappointed by this room - it was even smaller than the small room I had in Tokyo. What a hike to the train station, and more of a hike to the subway station.
3 out of 5
by william g. from Cincinnati

Small room in nice city

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely small room with the smallest hotel bathroom we've ever seen. Noisy ac unit, rough pillows, very little room to dress. That said, we rested well there. Best thing about our stay was the bakery about three doors away where everything is wonderful and only 100 yen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bega, NSW, Australia

A Good Hotel for Budget-focused Travellers

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Room could be slightly bigger
Location: Convnient to Keihan railway line and Fushimi-Inari Shrine.
We (husband and wife) stayed at Urban Hotel Kyoto for 7 nights in May 2016 and would definitely consider staying here again. The room was small, but comfortable and clean. It is located in 'suburban' Kyoto, a short walk to Keihan Railway's Fukukasa station. This, to us, was an advantage because the Keihan Railway is the major north-south railway and it made it easy to reach the major tourist areas north of the Kyoto railway station and to the east of the city, as well as accessing Mt Hiei and the Kurama/Kibune areas where we planned to do some walking. It was fun discovering local restaurants (the three we patronised were all good - the Ramen restaurant virtually opposite the hotel, the Korean/Okonomiyaki Shogetsu restaurant and the yakka tori Roman-ya Fujimori 300 metres down the road; the hotel provides a listing most local eateries). There is a Family Mart mini-supermarket and a great patisserie across the road, and a bakery next door. The hotel provides (very reasonably priced) washing machines and dryers - so everything is handy. The stunning Fushimi-Inari Shrine is within walking distance of the hotel, but the closer Hotoji Temple is also well worth a short visit.
5 out of 5
by Monica from Houston Texas

Basic comforts

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a short walk from the train station and the Inari Shrine. There is a fancy restaurant attached to the front and a $1 shop baker down the street with plenty of other restaurants in the area as well as convenience store for other needs. The hotel also includes a washer dryer for those who pack light and need to refresh their clothes for a longer stay.