Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and authentic

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient to train station. Ryokan was like stepping into Japan of 30+ years ago. Quaint, simple, authentic, clean and reasonably priced. Plus delicious and exquisite Japanese breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your staying and good review. please come to kyoto and our hotel. please Good luck.
3 out of 5
by Teresa from Toronto

That Traditional Feel

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
It is hard to find accommodation for 4 in a room in Japan as most places are designed for 2 people. I really wanted to have our 4 family members sharing a traditional room versus a regular North American type hotel. This Ryokan offered a 4 futon room. I have stayed at Ryokans before and was expecting to have a room for the tea table as well as the sleeping room and was a bit disappointed that there was not more space. However the staff were very friendly and efficient at making over the room during the day, putting the futons away and then setting them out again in the evening. The bathroom was a typical small private unit, but this was not an issue as we had access to the large male and female traditional baths as well, which seemed very underused by other hotel guests. Really convenient to the main Kyoto Station so an easy walk with luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your staying and good review. please come to kyoto and our hotel. please Good luck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Expedia said the children would stay for free. We checked in and were charged $90 PER child. More than we paid on Expedia. Room smelled like cigarette smoke.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Newcastle

Wondeful traditional experience

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay at the Wakamiya Ryokan! It was only a very short walk from the train station (perhaps 5 minutes) and within walking distance to many of the temples and other tourist destinations (about 15 - 20 minutes walk from the Nishiki shopping area). We hired bikes from the shop down the street and were able to explore the area very easily. The staff are very helpful and the room comfortable (small but cosy). We had a great view of the Kyoto Tower from our room. There is some traffic noise but nothing that kept us awake. There are heaps of amazing little restaurants along the street for plenty of traditional dinner options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the station

Posted Aug 21, 2015
very close to the station and makes a great base to explore Kyoto and nearby cities
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Hotel sanoya, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and good review. we`re looking forward to your visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by H H from Davao City, Philippines

A very warm reception in Kyoto

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
The male manager and the room attendants are very warm, attentive and helpful. They helped us get directions right, gave us tea upon arriving and attended to our needs. Very good genuine ryokan experience all in all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Hotel sanoya, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and good review. we`re try to good service for guest every day. we`ll be ready more good ryokan wakamiya. please come to kyoto and stay our hotel. we`re looking forward to your visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location close to Kyoto Station, Japan-Style

Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels
Loved this hotel. Althou it's not top notch quality but for the price we paid, we experienced Japanese style room, a spa, great service. There's snacks when we return and hot water in the room, tatami bed made up. Loved it. Plenty of places to eat around the place and close to Kyoto station about 5 mins walk which is very convenient consider we travel around a lot to see temples and also trip to Nara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2010 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Wakamiya

Posted May 2, 2010
The only downside is the fact that none of the employees can speak English. They can speak only a few words so if you need their help to have a reservation made or to purchase tickets for a show you are out of luck.