Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is at a good location near the main station with easy access to all the tourist spots in the city. The room is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small room next to the Kyoto Station

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and access to transportation was the best part
Cons: more tv channels in English
Location: the Sightseeing bus company was right there at Kyoto Station where I bought a ticket to see Maiko (junior Giesha dancers) shows. exactly what I was l
The TV only had 1 news station, but I was out and about and did not miss TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Very conveniently located - heart of Kyoto

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location is great!
Location: 5 min walk from Kyoto station (main hub for trains around Kansai & local buses). Isetan, BIC Camera, 7-11 are all across the hotel.
The hotel is very conveniently located, just 5 min walk from the Kyoto station. Check-in is smooth & straight-forward with staff speaking simple & understandable English. The hotel is slightly older-fashion on the inside, but the room that we had was nice, clean, & provides all the basic hotel amenities that we needed for our 2 nights stay. The Economy Double room that we had was actually quite compact/cramped with not much space to fit our 2 large luggage (just a direct walkway towards the double bed). If you're of larger built/size, you'll find this room fit for just 1 person & not 2 large persons. The bathroom was clean, but also rather small; not very much for comfort/bath tub soaking, but just to wash up & shower. We appreciate the area around the hotel as the 7-8 floors BIC Camera store & 7-11 convenience store is just across the road. We could get a great variety of affordable products & food from these 2 places. Even Isetan is located at the Kyoto station & there's much to walk, shop, see & eat around the area. The hotel is just 2 stations away from the popular Karasuma/Shijo area where the markets, Gion, & shrines are located. Kyoto station is also facing Kyoto Tower & it's a great bus terminal to get around to all the places of interests in Kyoto.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by APA Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel. If you visit Kyoto again,please come to our hotel. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Chi Ching Ophelia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for staying our hotel. Our hotel is good access to Kyoto Station. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your post! APA Hotel
1 out of 5
by Margaret

not inclined to visit again

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
* service very spasmodic and /or poor
4 out of 5
by Reimer

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
good stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for staying our hotel. Our hotel is good access to Kyoto Station. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your post! APA Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, bad room.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Standard Japanese room, small. Room was a bit on the dirty side. Shower had mold. Room walls had blue ink stains. Desk broken fridge enclosure was also broken. Power cutoff by old key fob to room caused fridge to never work. Staff seemed very helpful, but room was drab.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nobuko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels