Ratings based on 1,375 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the train station, but room was not

Posted Nov 26, 2017
We didn’t expect a lot from a business hotel, however after staying at an APA in Tokyo we had minimum expectations. The staff were helpful and kind, however the room was very disappointing. Sold as a double we thought there would be enough room to open our luggage next to the bed, but my partner and I had to take turns shuffling and squeezing our bags on to the bed or in front of the entrance door. Rips and stains on the walls and not nearly enough power outlet. There are cheaper and better hotels in the area. Trust me, we stayed at one right after we stayed here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice bed

Posted Nov 9, 2017
small room but comfortable bed. nice to have a casual stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kobe

Perfect, Just Perfect!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, Price, Location
Cons: Staff's English Level
Location: Huge electronics stores for the guys Lots of apparel stores for the ladies. Restaurants for families Historical buildings like temples and shrines
Firstly, they upgraded my cheapest single-bed room booking to a three-bed room. I do not know the reason why they did it, but their quick decision of upgrading my room was nothing but for customer satisfaction, and I was satisfied. This gives me the impression of them being flexible and they are eager to satisfy their customers. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends! Secondly, the location can not get any better. It is only a few minutes' walk from JR Kyoto Station. Everything including restaurants, convenience stores and other stores are all in walking distance. Lastly, the price was really reasonable. I will come back to stay at this hotel again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu Hawaii USA

Convenient location near Kyoto Station

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Needs to be renovated to newer condition.
Location: Located a few blocks from Kyoto Station and Kyoto Tower. Easy to get to anywhere in kyoto by train, subway, bus, walking and bicycle.
Location was excellent, a few blocks away from Kyoto Station. It was confusing to find because there is a newer APA Hotel located between this location and Kyoto Station. It's an older hotel and it does show it's age. I could smell cigarette smoke in the lobby, hallways and our room. I'm very allergic to 2nd hand smoke and to VOG, which I got a good dose of while in Kyoto. The room was a little smaller that some of the other hotels we stay at in Japan, but typical for Japan. I did complain about the smell of the air coming out of the air conditioner, didn't smell clean and the vent was very dirty. The young lady at the front desk did try to clean it with a vacuum cleaner but it didn't help much. After a couple of days I complained again and the young lady at the front desk did change our room. The new room as so much better and cleaner. The hotel staff was friendly and profession. We probably would have eaten in the restaurant but the smell of cigarette smoke was too offensive. Location is excellent. This hotel could be great if renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kanagawa

Clean and convenient.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This hotel has streamlined the stay-the-night process. Payment and checkout are handled by machines. Rooms are superbly clean, as you would expect in Japan, and completely comfortable, although small. My only problem was that breakfast was so crowded there was nowhere to sit. And when I went for a 20 min walk and came back, it was even more crowded and I had to queue outside. Stil, I suppose this shows how popular the hotel is. The breakfast itself was very nice with an excellent range, but no toaster! This was slightly disappointing to me. I would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very good hotel. Excellent location, very good service. I'd recommended it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to central station

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast choice was good
Cons: Nothing really you pays your money......
Location: Just across the road from cycle hire shop. Great fun exploring Kyoto on an electric assist bike
Small room ok for one person but would have been awkward with another person
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Central but in great need of renovation!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel staff ignorant of directions, suggestions etc. Not able to help in any way!
4 out of 5
by Ravi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels