Ratings based on 1,190 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facility with great services!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
I had a great time at APA Hotel Kyotoeki. The staff understands English well and the room was neat and clean. The semi-double bed was a decent size for a couple.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Be prepared for a very small room

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The location is good and the breakfast was included in the room price which also helps in educating visitors about Japanese food.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated so a repaint would help.
Location: It is an easy walk from the Kyoto railway station which is an amazing place in itself. Go have a look underground! The station building is amazing too
Great location, good price and good facilities but it is smaller than the average small room of Australian hotels. I would rate it as similar to Ibis Budget but much smaller. They do provide more toiletries which include kimono style dressing gown, slippers, hair ties, razors and shave cream, hair brushes, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, shower cap, toothbrushes and toothpaste. Late check out is also a bonus. Uncomfortable bed if you are not used to a futon and pillows have bean bag balls in them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

It's near to kyoto stn!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I feel its a hotel that i would recommend. It's near the station and a hospital. There's BIC camera place in between the hotel pathway to the kyoto stn. Convenient and safe. Staffs are friendly and able to speak English.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

APA Hotel Kyotoeki-Horikawadori

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Room is so small and not very comfortable to move around the room. Air Conditioning is very low even if the temperature was on the lowest already. Very small dining facility wherein you need to wait for at least 20-30mins before you could eat the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is perfect

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I would come back again......again would be back. Go to Hokugawa river. easy ride train
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Great hotel near station

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Overall thought staff and location was great. I recommend hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Great location, tiny but clean rooms.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Awesome location right near the center of Kyoto. Walking distance from the train station, Toji Temple, Kyoto Tower and more. My room was tiny, but at least it was clean and didn't smell bad. The lobby has a currency exchange machine that can convert USD to JPY. The hotel is directly next to a 7-11 with basic essentials.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Old facilities and unacceptable breakfast with limited choices and dirty spaces
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff. But that's cheating. There's no hotel in Japan with a sourpuss at the front desk.
Cons: Nothing. The hotel has a specific purpose (businessmen), and it fits the bill perfectly.
Location: 5 minutes walk from the station. It was great.
It's a business hotel. Expect that level of utility. Small, cramped room and bathroom, but it has everything you need. The price by itself is reasonable, but when you consider the location, it's a good deal. I stayed with my wife, which compounded the feeling of crampedness, but if you're by yourself, it's likely a lot easier. This hotel was the overflow from the main one, which is slightly closer to the station. You could also buy a breakfast for about a 1200 yen (I think). Basic Japanese breakfast (because it caters to Japanese businessmen). Not a bad deal. I can eat it. I just prefer what I'm used to, and went elsewhere. I only stayed one night, because that's all I was in town for, and this hotel fit the bill. If I had to stay 3 nights, I would likely go where there's a little more room. I wouldn't have the location, but it wouldn't be an issue for a long stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Hotel room was small in size for 2 adults and a child, but overall was great.