Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by JAMES

AC broken in a small stuff room

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Our booked room was booking as "smoking" due to availability. Our AC and air purifier were both not working making the tiny smoky room a bit unbearable. The hotel was advertised to have AC but when we contacted the manager on duty there was no clear reason why ours was out of service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ideal Location with Sufficient Amenities

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Centrally located and a few minutes walk from Kyoto station (important if carrying luggage!) . You can easily get to all the attractions in a few subway stops and even walk to some. Would recommend staying here based on location alone. The facilities are basic but comfortable and in good condition. No pool, room service etc... Not that kind of hotel. Clean and comfortable room with a nice bed, fridge and a clean (but small bathroom). That's all you need. Overall great value for your money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The location is great. It is within short walking distance to the Kyoto Train Station and bus routes.
Cons: It is beyond redemption.
Location: The fact that it is so close to the train station is the only selling point for this establishment.
The hotel smells bad the minute you walk in. The bathroom smells. The room itself is like a shoe box. We were given tatami cushions instead of pillows. When I called the desk to request pillows. I was told that they ran out of them. After three restless nights, we went to the desk and asked to talk to the manager, and we were finally given pillows! The waitresses at the tiny dinning room were so unfriendly that it was very unpleasant. There was only one English Speaking channel BBC, on TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Really small room strategic location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good: close to kyoto station, coffee shop at the lobby with breakfast buffet (not included), best vanilla latte, staff is awesome, they will help you the best way they can. Bad: the size of the room is too too small, it was for two, Dont know if its the standard in Japan. The pillows are not nice at all unfortunately. TV is too big for the size of the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice quiet hotel close to Kyoto Station

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Staff were always willing to help.
Cons: Unfortunately the rooms are too small but it would be nice if there were two chairs in the room as sitting on the bed is not comfortable.
Location: Located very close to Kyoto Station yet a quiet location. Trains and bus terminus close by so easy access to all transport to tourist spots.
Hotel staff, cleanliness, facilities were excellent. Rooms are very small but manageable and for such a great location a small sacrifice to make.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by David

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very cramped, could not even open suitcases, limited seating for breakfast, asked to eat outside in freezing temperatures, water not always replaced or cups washed.
2 out of 5
by David

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are so small you cannot even open your suitcase, room was not always serviced cups left unwashed and not always water to drink. Breakfast seating was inadequate and often had to wait for a seat, very over priced. Only suitable for a business one night stop over, not for tourists with luggage
5 out of 5
by Great Location from Kyoto

Excellent! Great Location.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location as it is within walking distance (3-5min) from Kyoto Station. Surrounded by shopping and attractions. Down side is room very small but that's typical Japanese size in most hotels in Japan. Convenient to Kyoto Station to take day trip to Nara and Inari.