Ratings based on 1,708 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great central location to visit Kyoto and beyond

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The hotel is located right at the Kyoto train station, therefore is minutes from Shunkansen and local trains as well as buses. Recommended for the traveller. Staff are helpful and speak English. The pool, spa and gym were not available during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Very convenient to get around because it's right at the hub station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Perfect stay

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Beautiful architecture in the train station, couldn’t ask for a better position, getting anywhere from here is so easy and convenient, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location for exploring Kyoto and Towns Nearby

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: * Location *
Cons: Check in and check out time is a bit long
Location: Located right at the beautiful train station provides easy access to everything
* 2 min walk to bus station to access Kyoto attractions * 2 min indoor walk to train station to access nearby towns/ cities * Great view of Kyoto Tower for rooms facing north * Room is well appointed and plenty of space * Indoor access to many shops and stores
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great Hotel, Superb Location

Posted Dec 24, 2017
The Granvia is a first rate hotel with very comfortable rooms. It's location inside Kyoto Station is superb for those who want to minimize travel time. We used Japan rail passes, and by using the Granvia as our hub we easily made day trips to Nara, Hiroshima, and Himeiji -- and back and forth to Tokyo. Can't miss hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Very convenient location, very nice room!

Posted Dec 16, 2017
One of the best hotels that I have experience in Japan. The room was excellent!, the location is quite convinient if you go to Kyoto as tourist, and service is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenience and very near to Kyoto Station...

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Overall hotel location is excellent and convenient..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Convenient location, good facilities and nice staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super location for visiting temples

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Exceptionally friendly staff. Good sized room for Japan. Located right at the train station. For breakfast, skip the massive buffet and grab a coffee & croissant next door at the bus station or underground at Porta Mall - and head for the train/subway out to the temples. The only thing that disappointed us was the extra charge for the pool & fitness area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Best Hotel Ever!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I've stayed here twice and already know I'm coming back to Hotel Granvia Kyoto when I return. I love everything about this hotel. The location is convenient since it's in Kyoto Station. Once we got off the shinkansen, getting to the hotel is a breeze. The service is amazing. The staff is on top of it once you step into the lobby to check in. The concierge staff are also terrific. They really helped us figure our way around Kyoto and the different spots we wanted to see. Our room was comfortable and clean. We got lucky and ended up on the newly re-modeled floor, so we were very happy with the design and decor. If you can, try to get the breakfast buffet. It's got American, Japanese, and Chinese breakfast items. Everything is fresh and the food service area is clean. Overall service is great too. Never experienced a long wait to get in either.