Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to Jr station. Easy handicap access.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
I was travelling with my friend, Family booked similar days and paid the same price but my room was 25% smaller. Consider change of plan, requested from 2 night change to one , no refund. No problem, can I upgrade room to a 'regular size'? -no. How about instead of 1 room 2 days, 2 rooms 1 day? -no. Anything I can do to make the room bigger? - yes forfit your existing booking and get charged full price again. Staff doesn't seem interested to help , therefore ... Okay thanks. No. I left after 1 night and headed to APA in Shinjuku.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Excelent location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The location is excelent and the staff is nice. The room was non-smoking however my pillow smelled smoke. The A/C was hot and no matter changing the setting it would not adjust. Food in the restaurant nor very good. Given the location, condition of the hotel and price I think it is a good option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Close to JR Station. Clean and comfortable.
Location: Shopping and dining at Isetan, Porta and the Cube that are all connected to Kyoto Station. Kyoto Tower next door.
The Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto is across the street from the main Japan Rail Station (Kyoto Station). Just outside the hotel there is an underground access to the JR Station and Porta which the shopping and dining area of Kyoto Station. The hotel is fairly busy with many tourists and the hotel staff are attentive. Our room had two twin beds located on the 9th floor. View from the room was the back of a builiding. The room was large by Japanese standards and like all the hotels we stayed at in Japan had no drawers for your clothing. Room was clean and the bathroom fairly large. Shiseido face, body soap and shampoo are supplied. Comfortable hotel in a good location if you are going from city to city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very convenience hotel with mass transport across to everywhere else in Japan!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Excellent location but average hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The hotel is in a brilliant location right across the road from the train and bus station and many eateries. Hotel staff are all pleasant but most lacked basic English so there were some difficulties in communication. We unfortunately only had the option of booking a smoking room and the air quality was foul even in the reception area and dining areas. With a floor fan which was already in the room, the air quality was still horrible and kept most of us awake throughout the night. On request, the hotel made no effort to find us a non-smoking room even with 2 small children. This was really the biggest let down of our stay. Hotel buffet breakfast was quite good for Westerners. The room was small but to be expected. Luckily we only had one suitcase for 4 people otherwise we wouldn't have been able to move without walking on the beds. Overall a decent stay for the price we paid but unlikely to stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Very convenient and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. Just across the road from the very modern central Kyoto train station. The room is modern and comfortable for a family of three or four people. My only slight criticism is the level of English spoken by hotel staff is still somewhat limited. But the staff are very courteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom needs a scrub.
The hotel location is right across from Kyoto Station and it is not noisy or crowded at all. The neighbourhood is very nice with plenty of restaurants. Hotel staff is amicable and the lunchroom bright and clean. The rooms are clean but the washrooms could use a better scrub. Close to everything and the rooftop patio is amazing with view of the Kyoto Tower and the gorgeous Kyoto Station. I definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Boo Hwa

Good location to JR station and Bus Terminus

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good sized room although a little old. Very convenient location to train, ub way and bus transport
3 out of 5
by Melissa

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The room was small and the bathroom was disgusting. We liked the location because it was accessible to everything.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Nice and super clean

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very convenience location! Everything is nice and super clean!