Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrei

Charming and convenient

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great hostel, nice, clean and cozy, would love to stay there again. PROS: 3 min walk to a subway station, 15 min walk to the main Kyoto train station; nice kitchen with a stove, microwave and various utensils for common use; laundry machine on the roof top; a 24 hour supermarket is about 5 min walk away, also a 7-eleven is 3 min walk away (which in Japan is much better than in North America). We were lucky to get the room on the top 4th floor, which has its own balcony with a view and no other neighbors. CONS: the place was initially a bit hard to find, the taxi driver had to spend extra 2-3 min asking some locals for direction. Streets in this area are narrow, a taxi is too big to turn into the street. My advise, print or show a detailed map. Also, beware that the front desk is in another building a street away and closes at 10 PM. No elevators so prepare for walking up/down the stairs. Overall: we really liked the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Staff are super helpful and friendly. the stairs are steep but the building seems pretty new or newly renovated and staff were eager to help us carry our luggage up.
4 out of 5
by minh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Miguel

Backpackers place with premium cost

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Location is good,but for the 300 euro I paid for 2 nights ,very expensive,for sleeping on the floor and no furniture at all(just a ridiculous small table with 2 tea cups), my room located on the third floor no elevator,with big travel bags ,quite disturbing to reach and to leave,no wifi at all they will rent you a router for extra $$ and in the add,they say free wifi. overall ,never go there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Staffs were friendly

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: 15 walk to Kyoto station. Have to take the bus to the shopping area
Washroom was small. Not very convenient but walk distance to Kyoto station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

in the heart of urban kyoto, a friendly dorm

Posted Nov 14, 2016
PROS - quick walk to/from kyoto station, subway station - flexible staff checked us in very early to let us drop off our bags and explore - plenty of updated suggestions for seasonal sites/activities CONS - the private room for 3 on the main floor is right next to the main common space/kitchen, which can be noisy with the right mix of internationals staying up late
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Chic and quiet place

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Minimarts and a 24 hour supermarket are located near by. Right next to the guesthouse is a small cosy family restaurant and a public bath house.
We are a traveller of 3 friends who stayed for a total of 3 nights. The guest house is a short walk away from Gojo station which is 1 stop away from Kyoto Main station. A mini briefing with a guide book was distributed to us when we check in which is very handy. The only thing which was tricky was locking our room. We have to tried a few times to actually figure out how to lock the room.There is also a kitchen of the first level, where we can use the utensils, cook and use the fridge. To identify which is our product we have to use a marker, which we have issue writing since its a white board marker, a simple swipe and our words keep getting erased, so best to use a pen. Our room was on the first floor of the guest house with a private bathroom. To enter our room, we get to pass by a very cute mini garden!! Overall, we are satisfied with our room, the futon was clean and the air-con was fully functional. There are sufficient space for three of us in the room with our futon and luggage laying around. The neighbourhood is a quiet residential area, away for the bustlings city, we fell in love with the place and Kyoto.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Japanese Style Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
For Foreigner,It was difficult to find the Hotel from the station,no clearance guidance.The Hotel has many houses.The Reception and public area are separated. Bed room is not big enough for 3 people, the shower room is very small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service was not so good

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Wi-Fi wasn't working and I was offered to switch for a different room with working Wi-Fi but shared toilet for the same price. Uh, noooo way. So I just used my phone data. Smelly garbage in the hallway on my floor, took them really long to replace a burnt light bulb. The breakfast was good, but you can only have it between 8 and 9 and my tea pot was dirty. Good location, but really not the best service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels