Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorry to say this hotel owneris not friendly

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Dear Future Guest, I am writing a review on this hotel because I just like to warm any future guest about the owner’s attitude to me and my wife. For the first time I booked a hotel where when I check-in the room it was not available. Traveling from oversea and not knowing much about the city or people I assume the hotel owner would be helpful. Instead the owner, whom I will not say her name was quite rude to me and was unable to help me with other accommodation. Instead she made me feel it was my fault and yelled at me and told me to leave. I think she was just have a bad day but no reason for her to yell and scream at her guest. I really hope she would be able to change her attitude.
5 out of 5
by Tiago

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Didn't get to enjoy it as much but Kazu, our host, is amazing. I love their free pick up service. A great start and finish to your trip is always how to get there and how to leave. That is really important and I wish a lot of places offered free transportation like Kazu does. Very friendly and always answered with a smile and a great attitude.
5 out of 5
by Sun Hee

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely accommodating and friendly. Not the largest and most luxurious place, but it's got everything you want from a cute little garden, tea room, to a restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Interesting, mostly authentic experience

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were great, the tatami mats were clean and in good condition, we had minimal contact with the staff or other guests, so it was really everything we wanted. It is not the most traditional ryokan, but it certainly gives one an idea of what experience could be.
5 out of 5
by Kylie

Family trip

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time, a little bit difficult to find but all in all a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Value For Money

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: We stayed as a family of 4 with teenagers and loved the traditional feel to the house. Our room had a nice courtyard garden view.
Cons: We felt the cleaning services were a little disorganised. Staff came when asked to our room, but the rest of the facilities were a bit neglected.
Location: Quite close to restaurants, temples and cultural activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

enjoyed the warm of hospitality

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Small street, about a mile from Kyoto Station. too far to walk too close by taxi ¥800 but not all driver knows the exact location. Wall is thin and can hear people laughing and talking. Might need to consider if we have more than a night stay but people are very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels