Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Didn't get to enjoy it as much but Kazu, our host, is amazing. I love their free pick up service. A great start and finish to your trip is always how to get there and how to leave. That is really important and I wish a lot of places offered free transportation like Kazu does. Very friendly and always answered with a smile and a great attitude.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Interesting, mostly authentic experience

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were great, the tatami mats were clean and in good condition, we had minimal contact with the staff or other guests, so it was really everything we wanted. It is not the most traditional ryokan, but it certainly gives one an idea of what experience could be.
5 out of 5
by Kylie

Family trip

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time, a little bit difficult to find but all in all a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Value For Money

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: We stayed as a family of 4 with teenagers and loved the traditional feel to the house. Our room had a nice courtyard garden view.
Cons: We felt the cleaning services were a little disorganised. Staff came when asked to our room, but the rest of the facilities were a bit neglected.
Location: Quite close to restaurants, temples and cultural activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

enjoyed the warm of hospitality

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Small street, about a mile from Kyoto Station. too far to walk too close by taxi ¥800 but not all driver knows the exact location. Wall is thin and can hear people laughing and talking. Might need to consider if we have more than a night stay but people are very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anthony from New York

Cute traditional style place

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful little traditional style room. Clean and aesthetic, great for a traditional look and feel on a budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

A bit pricey

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: For the novelty of staying in a Ryokan.
Location: We didn't get to explore the neighborhood as there doesn't seem to be much to explore.
This place is fine for a 1st time experience in a Ryokan. I won't stay here again only because it's too pricey even for Kyoto. We have two kids traveling with us and we had to whisper to each other as the other rooms were too close and the walls were very thin. For us, it was a place to come back to at night to sleep. There was not enough space to do anything else (even though I did get to go online to check my emails on my laptop)
4 out of 5
by jade from Singapore

Ryokan

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was really good so we stayed an extra night. The only thing is that the mats for sleeping on the floor seemed quite old so were not as comfy and fluffy as expected making it a little uncomfortable. But overall would recommend this Ryokan!