Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very nice, clean hostel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
This was a great place to stay during our one-night stay in Kyoto. We got a private, corner room with our own bathroom and the room and bathroom were very clean. The futons were nice and comfortable, and it was a quiet, peaceful stay (the staff emphasize the importance of being quiet at night, which is a plus in my book!). The location of the hostel is not close to many of the things you would want to do in Kyoto and it's also a 15+minute walk to/from Kyoto Station. BUT, there are two restaurants around the corner with good food, and just a block away is a public bath house that is open 24hrs. It was VERY nice and it cost under 5yen per person. I highly recommend it. For those who don't mind a bit of a walk or want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the high-traffic tourist areas, this place is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm and comfortable Japanese style accommodation

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Staff are friendly and the room we stayed in was clean. It has a common kitchen with a couple of supermarkets nearby, onsite coin operated laundry (200 yen, detergent provided) and dryer (100 yen per 30 min), comfortable common areas. It's pretty central, 15min walk from the main JR station. There are other stations nearby and walkable distance to a few temples and tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
by Maisie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark from Sydney

Traditional fun

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Room clean and comfortable. Family enjoyed the traditional style of sleeping on the floor. Staff friendly and helpful, giving us great help and advice in navigating in the city. Definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, quaint, and cute

Posted Oct 21, 2015
The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms, but they don't advertise anything more. It's very cute, perfect for a short stay, and is in a great location close to the station. The price vs value was as expected, and we found it perfect.
4 out of 5
by Jessika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lin-Shiu from Taiwan

Not bad

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Room is a bite too small and away from Kyoto station
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice stay - something different

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Small and different. Staff are great and speak english.
Cons: Not much
Location: Take the 50 bus from Kyoto station.
We enjoyed our stay. It is a little isolated, with few restaurants nearby but a walk in the small streets is interesting anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice central location

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Couple in a twin room. Rooms were nice and comfortable and staff very nice. The hotel was in a nice central location and had very useful tourist and restaurant guides. The rooms however are a bit dark at night and the walls are paper thin so can be a bit noisy if your neighbours are out late.