Ratings based on 1,641 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wifi

Posted Dec 8, 2017
While the hotel and staff were both very good, the wifi connection in our room was very poor. We would have to regularly re connect our phone to the wifi, often to find that it would disconnect a few seconds later. When we approached the staff about this, they were understandably unsure on how to resolve it - however did not chose to get it contact with the relevant personnel to action it. There is also an extra charge to use the amenities such as the gym and swimming pool, about ¥540 each. This seems excessive after having paid a significant amount to stay at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you had difficulty connecting to the Wi-Fi. Recently, we have worked to improve the strength of the Wi-Fi connection so that it is more easily accessible for all guests. We also apologize for the inconvenience regarding our pool and fitness gym fees. In accordance with guest requests, we have reduced the fees. We hope to welcome you back and show you everything our hotel has to offer. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location / Staff
Had a great experience at this hotel. Staff are friendly and Kyoto station is no too far. There is also a shuttle bus that goes directly to the station if you don't feel like walking
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by such high praise. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary shuttle bus. During your next visit, feel free to try our in-house bar, Granada, where bartenders mix signature drinks in surroundings that echo the Spanish region of the same name. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Spacious room and convenient location

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Convenient location and spacious room. We booked a 3 bed room and it was really spacious. The hotel staff are friendly as well. It's a short walking distance from Kyoto station and they also provide a shuttle bus to the station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by your kind words, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room and easy access to Kyoto Station by our complimentary shuttle bus. During your next visit, feel free to try one of our 6 in-house restaurants, including Top of Kyoto, our revolving restaurant that offers fine French cuisine. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2017
great hotel, friendly staff, clean and spacious room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room and that the staff were able to assist you. During your next visit, feel free to try one of our six in-house restaurants, including Teppanyaki Aoi, where savory steaks are prepared and served right at your table. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Rooms in excellent conditions. Good location near to train station... very easy access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our staff truly appreciates your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the guest rooms and that you were able to access the Kyoto Station and other destinations without difficulty. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Check in was smooth, staff was extremely attentive and friendly. We even got a free upgrade!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by such high praise, and we are happy to hear that the staff were able to assist you. During your next visit, feel free to try one of our in-house restaurants, including Gourmand Tachibana, our Japanese and French fusion restaurant where chefs prepare and serve dishes right at your table. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

とても快適でした

Posted Nov 26, 2017
急に思い立って京都旅行に行きました。無計画でしたが、従業員の方々の対応はもちろん、コンシェルジュの方々が、紅葉のポイントなど資料をもとに教えていただき、思い出に残る旅行になりました。また、宿泊したいです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

excellent experience

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Very clean and nice room. Staff were very helpful, took extra mile to book taxi in advance. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by such high praise, and we are pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you, During your next visit, feel free to try one of our six in-house restaurants, including Top of Kyoto, our revolving restaurant that serves fine French cuisine. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Three Star Hotel At A Four Star Price

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Very little.
Cons: I think this hotel is beyond saving.
Location: Not a bad location, near the train station and a large mall.
The hotel is dated and very tired looking. The staff seems to be just going through the motions and has no real interest in the guests. An over riding problem was the extremely poor Wi-Fi. The system would drop off every 10 to 15 minutes. When we complained to the front desk we were told to see housekeeping who knew nothing about the internet. A nearby mall provided the necessary internet access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We deeply apologize if the staff seemed unfriendly or disingenuous in any way. In addition, we are terribly sorry for the poor Wi-Fi connection, however, we have recently improved the system for faster, easier access to the internet. Again, we appreciate your feedback as we continue to better the facilities and quality of service at our hotel. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have enjoyed. Sincerely, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Better than the pictures

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The suite for 2 double beds and 2 futons was incredible. Entry way with bench, walk in closet, dining table/tatami for 2 futons at night, 2 western style double beds, seperste toilet room, ‘steam room’ with shower and soaking tub and double sinks. Decor was elegant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by sb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly humbled by such high praise, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the recently renovated decor. During your next visit, feel free to try one of our six restaurants, including Teppanyaki Aoi, where chefs prepare and serve savory steaks right at your table. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Manager