Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
It's an amazing place. Cozy, clean and wonderful. We got the package with dinner and it was a lovely experience. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and good food

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Good location service n authentic Japanese cuisines
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Ryokan in city. Better experiences available at top rated hotels in Kyoto for less money.
5 out of 5
by Brent

Authentic and unbeatable service

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic place. I could not recommend it more highly. It was not cheap but the service, staff, facilities and overall experience can't be beat. Even if you are on a budget it is worth splurging for one night here!
4 out of 5
by Haruo

Good traditional Inn

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Since it was advertised as a traditional Kyoto Inn with Kyoto cuisine, we were somewhat disappointed the first night since the dinner was not the traditional "Kai Seki" style. We were able to have very good conversation with the owner of the Inn and understood the history and his enthusiasm for his business. The service was excellent and staff were very courteous. Otherwise we enjoyed what we expected to find in a traditional Inn.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Come for the Experience and don't miss the FOOD!

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We wanted to stay in a traditional ryokan for the experience. But when booking we didn't realize how AMAZING the food (both dinner and breakfast) was going to be. After check-in, we put on the room's yukatas and headed down to the on site, private onsen for a nice hot bath. It felt great. Then at 7pm we went to the dinner room to take part in probably our best meal of the trip and certainly deserves to be in the same category as other michelin star rated restaurants we have been to. After dinner we walked around the grounds which were immaculate and then retired to our rooms to sleep on some pretty comfortable mattresses on the floor. Absolutely loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cozy Japanese Ryokan

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Nice and friendly staff.
Cons: The shower rooms are shared with other guests by taking turns . Breakfast are fully vegetarian (not recommended for meat lovers).
Location: It is very near the Kyoto station (which is accesible to the bus station if you intend to do shrine/temple hopping)
Very nice and friendly staff. Breakfast is good but is vegetarian (don't opt for breakfast if you are meat lover). You have to take turns with other guests in the ryokan for the shower. The 11pm curfew is not too bad as there is nothing much to explore in Kyoto by that time. Walkable distance to Kyoto station (would recommend taking the bus instead of train if you would like to do temple/shrine hopping)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Best thing is the food! Quite noisy and for the cost not having a shower in room seems not to good value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Loved everything except for the curfew.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Amazing staff, bath was clean majority of the time. The Ryokan provided yukata and PJs, which made the experience so much better. The only downside is the strict 11pm curfew, which restricts the ability to explore Kyoto's nightlife.