Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Nice hotel near the airport

Posted Jul 17, 2017
€20 taxi and you're there. Super close to the metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Not far from city centre or airport

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice clean room but no bath tub in room. No tea or coffee making facility in room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

It's a regular hotel, nothing special about it.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I booked a single king bed suite. They gave me a double twin. Old mattresses that sank down on each end. Locked my wife and I out at 1AM, waited for the reception to unlock the doors for us after 10min wait. Nothing special at all with this place. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere worth it. I wouldn't book here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a little far from center

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Frendly staff , clean and modern room, just a little far from center, close to metro station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Clean, pleasant fairly comfortable bed,etc.Problem is modern design without real drawer space for items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very very nice close to everything

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Was very nice I really like your Salona include everything the people the weather in the special the hotel the people in the hotel very friendly people and always ready to help
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. After reading your comments we are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you find our staff very helpful and friendly. We appreciate you giving us your opinion about your recent stay in the hotel Porta Fira and we will be delighted to welcome you again very soon. Yours sincerely, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Excellent Value for the Price

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff, Service and accommodations.
Cons: Restaurant service staff was stretched during dinner with slow response times.
Location: Subway within walking distance to Central Barcelona. Make sure to do reservations early for Sagrada Familia as they restrict the number of people.
We sent an email in advance of our stay and received acknowledgement right away that they could have us check in early after our cruise. We were also given a high floor room which was in perfect condition. The lobby staff was very accommodating and the concierge service was very helpful answering our questions with tours and locating the subway station. Restaurant products were very good, but service a little slow due to staffing challenges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin

Too expensive for what you get

Posted May 30, 2017
Front desk staff is not up to US or Canadian standards- we didn't felt welcome watsoever. Rooms are clean modern. Internet wifi and cable was adequate. Gym is ill equipped and small. We checked in for 2 days to see if we like it and wanted to stay for 2 more weeks. Front desk said they will contact us to give a discount, if any for long term stay by 11.00am monday. They didn't. We left. So pretty much hotel doesn't want to work for your money.Feels like Pay up and Shut up. Hotel deserves it rating for the price they charge. At $60 per night it would be excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Director de Operaciones, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. We appreciate the comments you did about our clean and modern rooms and also about our internet wifi connection. On the other hand we regret that you had a negative impression about our front desk staff. We will talk to our front desk manager in order to investigate what has happened and to know why they have not contacted you to give you information about the rates. Our main goal is to satisfy all the needs of our guests and it is obvious that in your case we have not succeeded. We are sorry for the incidence you had during your last stay with us but we would like to welcome you again in the hotel Porta Fira to demonstrate you that we usually offer a very good service to all our guests. We thank you for giving us your opinion about your recent stay in the hotel Porta Fira because this is the best way we have to improve our level of service in the future. Sincerely yours, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fanasatic hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Fanasatic hotel - brilliant experience - great staff - near to the airport - not far to get into the city centre vis cab, bus or metro - would definitely recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stayed between cruises and then again a week late

Posted May 16, 2017
We cruised Transatlantic and needed an extra night before flying to Athens for a second cruise. We h ad been to Barcelona before and needed a hotel closer to the airport. We found this hotel to be more modernistic than in the older Barcelona. There is a subway stop steps away and a shopping mall a couple of blocks away. We stayed again a wee later as our second cruise came back to Barcelona and we were flying home a day later. The rooms are amazingly clean and the views are surreal. We were given an extension due to our flight being delayed. Front desk person even helped us into our cab to the airport.