Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia NSW

Very Good Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: I liked how modern the hotel was. The friendly and helpful staff. The Continental breakfast was fantastic.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Just a short taxi or train ride to the sites of Barcelona very convenient location.
For us the location was excellent, close to transport and a short trip to the city centre of Barcelona. The Hotel was beautiful and modern, had a good restaurant and bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but far from city

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: It was a sleek new design, in good condition
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's a developing business and conference district with not much to offer a tourist
The hotel was very good. But it's in a business district which has little to offer visitors, and too far from the city for a siesta
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Director de Operaciones, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. As you told in your comments we are situated in a business and quiet area between the airport and the city centre and we are very well communicated by public transport. Next to the hotel there is the Europa Fira metro station that will connect you in fifteen minutes with the main historic city centre where you will find the most important touristic attractions of Barcelona. We are glad to hear that you think the hotel was very good and that you had a great stay with us. We really appreciate you giving us your opinion about your last stay with us and we would like to welcome you again in the hotel Porta Fira very soon. Yours sincerely, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Clean hotel, wonderful room with beautiful views

Posted Sep 7, 2017
My boyfriend and I booked this hotel after reading excellent reviews and seeing the photos online, it certainly doesn't disappoint. A beautiful room, true to photos online, with attentive and friendly staff. The hotel was in a great location also, quieter than the hustle and bustle of the city, but next to a metro station which takes you into the city in under 20 minutes. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Director de Operaciones, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. As you told in your comments we have a perfect location because we are situated in a business and quiet area between the airport and the city centre and we are very well communicated by public transport. Next to the hotel there is the Europa Fira metro station that will connect you in fifteen minutes with the main historic city centre where you will find the most important touristic attractions of Barcelona. We are very glad to hear that you liked our wonderful and modern rooms with amazing views to the city. We are also proud to know that our staff was very friendly and helpful. We thank you for giving us your opinion about your last stay in the hotel Porta Fira and we will be delighted to welcome you again during your next visit to the city of Barcelona. Yours faithfully, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

gary i

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, hotel smell (fragrance) and the design of the hotel
Cons: Wi fi is slow
Location: It is little out of the way 15 min from the city
Very helpfull staff room were amazing clean and new love the breakfast buffet we loved staying there my next visit ill be sure to sray there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
First time in Barcelona and we were very pleased with the hotel service. The staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice trendy hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
lovely modern unique hotel. decor and rooms are clean and well kept. only downside is no tea/coffee facilities in room being a 4 and half star hotel. close to the metro. staff were helpful. fairly easy to get to centre of barcelona . close to airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winddor,ontario

Not the best or the worst

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Stayed there 3 nights ,cold/ distant personal ,room on the small side,very clean tough. Cleaning staff making a lot of noise (slamming the doors of adjacent rooms) în the mornings if you are a light sleeper don't rise your hopes of sleeping in. The day we checked out had no cold water,so overall a mediocre experience. On the plus side very close to a subway/train station
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay for three nights during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. As you told we are situated in a business and quiet area between the airport and the city centre and we are very well communicated by public transport. Next to the hotel there is the Europa Fira metro station that will connect you in fifteen minutes with the main historic city centre where you will find the most important touristic attractions of Barcelona. After reading your comments we regret to know that you heard noise from our cleaning staff during the morning. We also would like to present you our apologies for the problem you had with the cold water the day you did the check out. We had a technical problem during the morning and it takes two hours to resolve it. To finish we are surprised to hear that you felt our staff cold and distant because we usually receive very good comments about the service they offer. Definetly we are sad because we didn't fullfil your expectations of service and we will take the necessary steps to avoid this kind of incidences in the future and to improve our level of services. We really thank you for giving us your opinion about your recent stay in the hotel Porta Fira and we will be delighted to welcome you again and to change your first impression. Yours sincerely, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great experience. Staff was helpful to give directions of the metro and advice on what to see in the city!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Single beds

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Not A king size room. When we got there we realised that it wasn't even a double bed room, it had 2 single beds pushed toghether, 2 sets of duvets etc. Were so tired we didnt complain. When we asked reception they said there is nothing they could do as we asked too late, they were booked, except if we want a special sheet with a zipper or something. I fell theough the crack hugging my better half. They said kingsize bed was only upon availability and although we paid for a kingsize bed room, we didnt even get a price refund for this joke. They said it is in the booking, I said it wasnt, they suggested we call expedia, then said I should do it myself. Only plus was they let us keep our luggage in their luggage room. I didn't tip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Porta Fira to stay during your last visit to the city of Barcelona. After reading your comments we are very upset to hear that you had a bad experience in the hotel due to we couldn't satisfy your request to have a king size bed during your stay. We would like to inform you that we always try to satisfy the requests of all our guests but we can never guarantee it because it is depending on the availability at the moment you do the check in. Unfortunately when you did the check in we haven't had availability of a room with king size bed and it was for that reason that our front desk agent offered you the possibility to convert your room with twin beds into a room with king size bed using a special cover we have for joining both beds and making the bed with double bed sheets. Surprisingly you declined this possibility. We would like to clarify that the rate is the same in all our standard rooms, it doesn't matter if they have twin beds or king size bed. Our main goal is to fullfil all the expectations of our guests and we are sad because in your case we didn't do it. We would like to welcome you again in the hotel Porta Fira and we will try to do our best in order to offer you a room with a king size bed during your next stay with us. Yours sincerely, Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great hotel, with great staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great hotel with modern facilities, great location as it's only 5 mins from everything,