Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Nice hotel in great location but tired

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: It was a chateau and the location. It had a lovely garden. Free bicycle use.
Cons: The tired dining room and reception area and bar. The shower door that opens half way because it hits the bidet and 18" step into shower.
Location: Location is good. Central in La Baule. Walk, cycle, swim in the sea. Some water sports on beach.
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017. Location good, food good, but it's a bit tired in some areas. Had to pay euros 15 per day to park the car in the empty hotel car park. It was very quiet and a bit soul less. We moved rooms because the first room, which was advertised as a suite, had knee high small windows. The second room was better but external lights right outside our bedroom came on during the night and light up our room and we were unable to switch them off. Beds were dipping in he middle. We wouldn't go back. An expensive stay and they get every euro out of you. Better to stay at the sister chateau at the other end of La Baule which has had a refurb. It looks really nice. We would stay there next time.
4 out of 5
by keith

The best in the area.

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Concierge and front desk staff very professional. Waiter in the gastronomic restaurant was young and inexperienced, could understand a simple martini request, we actually got up and left. Front desk staff booked us another restaurant off site. Beds were amazingly comfortable and linens were appropriate. No air conditioning so don't go if it heats up, we were on the tail end of a European heat wave so not to bad. Beautiful grounds with tables on the manicured front lawn, great views. Morning breakfast was well executed and staff very gracious. Left us to go coffee at the front desk as we had to hurry thru breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017
Dear Mister Keith, We thank you to take time for your comment and we will share the informations with the staff to improve our service. We are delighted to see you again in our beautiful country. Kinds regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Concierge of the hotel is the nicest person. Great food, hotel is beautiful , gives access to bike , tennis, spa ; swimming pools ..
5 out of 5
by Kurt from Santa Cruz

Wow!

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is exceptional. The space in the room, the high ceilings, the decor, the comfort of the bed and bedding, the bath, shower, bidet, seperate toilet, robes and slippers, international TV channels (English!) all made for a very romantic last night in France. The hotel property is across the street from the nicest beach in 200 km in either direction, though closer to the port the water is more turqoise and calmer. The hotel has free bikes! A few rooms on the top 2 floors have obstructed ocean views, ours didn't. Our room had a lock that was broken which required the reception to assist us to our room each time, a small inconvinence and the service was first class. The price of the meals (e32 for continental breakfast - e8 more for an egg) and mini-bar indicates a chic clientele and a short walk for the rest of us. The restaurant does have a star and would have loved to taste it, but we'd spent our budget on other stars previously. I would stay there again if I had the chance. Definately. Most Defiantely.
5 out of 5
by Cindy P from USA

best hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
This is a quaint luxury hotel that stands out from the rest for being beautifully situated in a garden with an aire of older, simpler days.
5 out of 5
by Cindy P from USA

Prettiest hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
We did not eat in the beautiful restaurant, but the hotel was gorgeous and perfectly situated on the beach. Friendly staff and elegantly appointed. Much cozier then the surrounding big hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Cons: Cuisine!!!! Please change the menu and improve quantities
Very nice position, hotel facilities perfect BUT cuisine not at the top with weird chef experiences (mixing fish with mushroms for instance) or very small quantities served...too bad it would have been a top place to go otherwise!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Definitely worth a visit

Posted Sep 14, 2009
This is a fantastic hotel with great staff at a wonderful location, very close to a beautiful beach. The hotel also offer complimentary bikes (the surrounding area is very bike friendly) and use of a nearby spa / swimming pool. The only downside that I can possibly think of is that the hotel restaurant is a little expensive with a more "mature" clientele (however, there are many great restauarants nearby worth experiencing). Overall, the hotel is definitely worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

lovely

Posted Jul 29, 2007
We enjoyed a week here from 14th to 21st july on a room only basis. Breakfast was extensive but quite expensive so we only ate on our first and last mornings. In fact, if you want to sample the fantastic range of lunch options in La Baule, crepes, set menus, seafood, then you do not need to eat breakfast. Dinner was equally expensive but absolutely perfect on the friday night - a truly gourmet fine dining experience, best kept for your last night as a special treat.. You could probably have just one course, but should really go for the set menu option. Theree are many dining options of all sorts in La Baule. Only one small gripe. We costed taxi transfers then decided to hire a car from Nantes airport. However, we were unaware until settling the bill that we had been charged each day for parking in the hotel carpark. When this charge was taken into account, we would have been cheaper with the transfers, as we did not drive more than 12 kms in the whole week. Also bottled water rather than sweets with the turndown service each night would be nice. Notwithstanding those small points, this is a lovely hotel to stay and staff were 100% in all respects.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mercer Island, Wa

Relaxing oceanside town

Posted Jul 26, 2006
Although set back from the ocean and view blocked by another hotel, this was a delightful place to stay. We visited during the off seasaon and were amazed by the added benefits of the thalassotherapie spa at the neighboring hotel.