Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Cons: Supplies in room - drinks etc.
Check in desk did not have us down for family room even though our reservation showed this. However, they did put us in a family room, downside was the '2 single beds' was a sofa bed & one mattress was on the floor. On the plus side, room was roomy enough, clothes hangers would have been useful as would have some tea bags or more than 2 sachets of coffee (4 people in room!). Shower was decent, powerful and warm. Check out easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not bad, good location.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Location and room size
Cons: It's the details! Eg easy access to power sockets when at the desk. WiFi to be reliable, air con to work, etc...
Location: Great for historic Blois town centre and Chateau Royal de Blois. Also Chateau Chambord very close.
The Villa Bellagio Blois was formally a Novotel (Google maps/street view still shows it as this). It is situated in a good location within easy cycling distance (3 km) of Blois town centre or short drive. Chateau Chambord is also very close about 20mins drive. Which is great if you want to get there early to miss the queues and crowds (recommended). Rooms are modern and sizable (at least family rooms are) with a double bed and a sofa bed that converts to two single beds. Minor points stop this from being a really good hotel. For instance parts of the hotel feel a little tired decor wise. Our room's air conditioning was not particularly effective (opening the window wide despite the heat was much more effective) and the free WiFi was available, but connecting also too erratic. The room change laundery bags were often too much in evidence in the corridors. There is a pool, and the restaurant serves a buffett evening meal (at least the night we were there although we went into Blois to eat). Breakfast provides a good selection trying to cover most peoples preference, cereals, pastries, breads, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, jams, spreads, hot bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, juices, tea, coffee, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mex

experience

Posted Jul 21, 2015
good location, but hotel needs a lot of renovation, rugs not clean, for one or two days ok
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Keep away from this one mate.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Blois is a great place to stay but this hotel is not good. It's an old run down Novotel that has been bought but it has problems. The main issues are with room air conditioning which did not work (it was 35 degrees most days). We complained but nothing could be done. The breakfast is OK and the room was serviced well. On our last night that held a loud karaoke contest until 1am which meant our children couldn't sleep (we complained but again nothing). the hotel is run down. Staff were OK but we stayed here four nights and it was the worst of our hotels. I think you can do better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest, U.K.

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Clean, large room and bathroom.
Cons: Better driving directions.
Location: This was just an overnight stop. The weather was awful for June,S so we were unable to use the pool.
This hotel was very difficult to find and numerous local people could not pinpoint it. After driving around for more than an hour we discovered it at the end of a no through road. It offered a lovely room, bathroom and a good breakfast. There was plenty of parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect stopover hotel from South of France

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great value family hotel - almost exactly half way between Dordogne region and Calais. Great facilities and room absolutely appropriate for amount paid. Pool very nice plus and well maintained. Breakfast was free for kids and as such was good quality and great value for our family of four. Ignore any bad reviews - this isn't the most luxurious hotel in the world, but isn't like it either. It is absolutely perfect as a stopover for any families who want to break the long drive home into two.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Functional hotel for an overnight stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The room, the pool, the gardens.
Cons: They charge too much for breakfast - we decided to go elsewhere
Location: The town of Blois is well worth visiting - it's a five minute drive from the hotel.
We spent a night here en route from the south of France with our two children. The room for 4 people was comfortable and clean, if a little small - the only problem we had was with the shower, which was difficult to work. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and the pool and ping pong tables were an added bonus.
2 out of 5
by A from New York

Not as good as it sounded

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Location: If I were going back I would look to stay in Amboise rather than blois. Both are central tommy chateaux but Amboise seemed much more lively and fun
We got a "family" room that sleeps four but barely has any room left over. There was supposed to be wifi in the room but it only worked if you sat on the floor near the door. We hoped to do some laundry but the cost was 6 euros for a shirt and 3 for underwear or socks. Instead we went into town and used the laundromat for about 12 euros for a whole load. Because the room was so small we inquired about getting a second room. Although the posted rate is 130 euros we were told we would have to pay 150. We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and the food was acceptable but nothing special The cost of breakfast was ridiculous so we went instead to a nearby boulangerie/ patisserie each morning and we mthoroughku enjoyed that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by romeo from canada

nice stay

Posted Jul 24, 2013
V.comfortable ,still needs little renovation and painting,vacuum,and new toilet seat which was disgusting dirty,old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Good quality family hotel. Comfortable rooms, good restaurant, convenient for chateau country.