Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Out of town hotel in Blois

Posted Sep 5, 2017
If you are planning to stay or stop over at the Villa Bellagio I wouldn't recommend it. We arrived just before the check in time at 2pm to be told that the kitchen was now closed despite the hotel information saying 2.30 - not something you want to hear after a 5 hour journey with children! The photos show a nice hotel with a pool and various facilities for children however the reality was very dissapointing as the hotel is rather tired, not particularly clean and seemed to have few staff. Breakfast was sadly chaotic as there seemed to be one member of staff so they kept running out of things. I guess the lesson to learn is pictures don't always tell the whole story!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to historical sites

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great region to visit sites. The hotel was basic. Breakfast was expensive. Nearby bakery way more economical (Feuliette Bakery). Staff were helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Adequate

Posted Aug 20, 2017
For an overnight stay the hotel was acceptable with good room facilities. However breakfast was another story. Half the tables still had previous occupants crockery as had not been cleared up. The other half were occupied. I asked one of the staff to clean a table for us which he did but then gave our table to another group despite me standing there. When he did lay another table there was no cutlery so I helped myself at the staff cupboard. At this point others did the same as service was very slow. Adequate choice for breakfast however and slow to replenish fruit juice. Not a good way to end a good stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Pool is not as big or as nice as photo

Posted Aug 19, 2017
As above don't bother unless you need to be in location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Wonderfulllllllllllllllll staying and quit with very nice and city staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
The two issues I had were: 1. It advertised BBC News available - When asked the clerk said it may be out and she'll call the technician the next day. 2. The dining area service was slow and the food quality was poor. I had the toughest piece of veal I have ever had, as did my wife. We brought that to the attention of the waitess, but she had no comment. Other than those issues, the hotel and staff were very good.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from LaCrosse

Wonderful Relaxing Place to Stay in Blois

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
I was there on business but brought my family. The Staff was very nice and helpful. The lobby was a great place to watch football or to just hang out with friends. The wifi is slow but I am sure that will soon be addressed. The place to stay if you like to be outside of the main city where you can enjoy the peace of nature. There is a trail with an easy walk down to the river Loire.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Wotif
The room was comfortable and clean, but some of the décor was looking tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Cons: Supplies in room - drinks etc.
Check in desk did not have us down for family room even though our reservation showed this. However, they did put us in a family room, downside was the '2 single beds' was a sofa bed & one mattress was on the floor. On the plus side, room was roomy enough, clothes hangers would have been useful as would have some tea bags or more than 2 sachets of coffee (4 people in room!). Shower was decent, powerful and warm. Check out easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not bad, good location.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Location and room size
Cons: It's the details! Eg easy access to power sockets when at the desk. WiFi to be reliable, air con to work, etc...
Location: Great for historic Blois town centre and Chateau Royal de Blois. Also Chateau Chambord very close.
The Villa Bellagio Blois was formally a Novotel (Google maps/street view still shows it as this). It is situated in a good location within easy cycling distance (3 km) of Blois town centre or short drive. Chateau Chambord is also very close about 20mins drive. Which is great if you want to get there early to miss the queues and crowds (recommended). Rooms are modern and sizable (at least family rooms are) with a double bed and a sofa bed that converts to two single beds. Minor points stop this from being a really good hotel. For instance parts of the hotel feel a little tired decor wise. Our room's air conditioning was not particularly effective (opening the window wide despite the heat was much more effective) and the free WiFi was available, but connecting also too erratic. The room change laundery bags were often too much in evidence in the corridors. There is a pool, and the restaurant serves a buffett evening meal (at least the night we were there although we went into Blois to eat). Breakfast provides a good selection trying to cover most peoples preference, cereals, pastries, breads, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, jams, spreads, hot bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, juices, tea, coffee, etc.